Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south east

Older but well maintained with superb facilities.

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing to report other than a lack of parking at times.
Location: See above plus the lido nearby(Locarno)&train station.excellent villages to either walk or drive to providing fantastic scenery.
We enjoyed every moment in nice surrounding and well located for Locarno & Ascona.excellent pool,warm and well situated.excellent breakfast and other meals.Spacious room with a nice size balcony privately arranged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2015 by Max Ferrara , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your appreciated feedback about our hotel and staff. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Esplanade Hotel Resort & Spa . Best regards, Max GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Good relax en route

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The views over the lake, large room and good food
Cons: Housekeeping - I shouldn't have to call for shower soap and gel the first time I'm in the room!
Location: Lake Maggiore - what more do you need?!
In the middle of a long drive, a real treat to chill out here for one night - wish it had been more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Like a heaven,,

Posted Jul 3, 2014
This is my second stay in Esplanade. Loved it so much that I could stay every season one week to taste the nature in Locarno. Located over the hills surrounded by trees with a look of classical and forever the best look of its natural way. I would advise anytime to spend some special time for yourselves,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Ohio

Outstanding service!

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Location: Amazing view!
Great service and great view! We were only there for one night, but the staff was very accommodating. Dinner was gourmet with excellent service and very nice ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Travels with S& from Lichfield

Elegance on Lake Maggiore.

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: The view from the veranda restaurant to accompany the excellent food.
Cons: Sometimes having to search for the barman !
Location: Set back on the hillside in extensive beautifully maintained gardens with great views over the lake. A place to chill !
We really enjoyed our stay in Locarno and could quite easily have spent longer. The hotel arranged a complimentary transfer for us from the railway station following our journey from Zurich on the spectacular route through the St Gotthard tunnel. We were greeted warmly and introduced to the hotel and its facilities over a glass of chilled wine ! Our room was clean and comfortable with air conditioning which was an essential given the summer heat. We made extensive use of the pool and the sun-loungers in the garden and enjoyed excellent meals on the veranda on both evenings. The lakeside path is around 15 minutes walk away and the hotel will lend you bikes if you want to cycle into town. There is also a regular bus service into Locaron that continues to Ascona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zürich

Empfehlenswertes Hotel für kürzere Aufenthalte

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Ich habe das Hotel für ein verlängertes WE gebucht und es nicht bereut. Es liegt verkehrstechnisch super - mit dem Auto ist man schnell auf dem Weg nach Lugano, Verzasca Tal, Bellinzona, und natürlich Locarno/Ascona. Auch die Anbindung an den öffentlichen Bus ist hervorragend. Die Sicht von der Terrasse ist toll - ein besonderes Frühstückserlebnis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel muy agradable con vista espectacular

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Nuestra estancia fue corta pero muy grata. Las comodidades del hotel muy buenas, personal muy cortés, habitación amplia, limpia, clara. Oferta de desayuno debmucha calidad y variedad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fabienne from Perroy

hôtel très accueillant

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: spa, piscine, repas
Cons: --
Location: ASCONA : très charmant
super séjour, personnel très accueillant, chambre très bien agencée, prestations à la hauteur
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hansjoerg from Bissegg, Thurgau, Schweiz

Super Aufenthalt

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Personal, Zimmer, Frühstücksbuffet.
Cons: Nein
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in Minusio. Locarno und Tenero liegen nur einen kleinen Spaziergang weit entfernt.
Sehr aufmerksames und überaus freundliches Personal. Zimmer sind einwandfrei und sehr sauber. Genügend Parkplätze sind vorhanden. Frühstücksbuffet war sehr gut. Ausgesprochen ruhig. Wir hatten einen super Aufenthalt im Esplanade und würden das Hotel jederzeit wieder buchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Düsseldorf

Entspannung pur

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Tolles Frühstück auf der Terrasse mit perfektem Blick.
Cons: Ich glaube kaum.
Location: Sehr schön am Hang gelegen, mit traumhaftem Blick auf den See und Berge - ob tagsüber oder nachts ein großes Erlebnis.
Nur eine Nacht verbracht aber alles in Perfektion: Service, Ambiente und entspannte Atmosphäre sorgen für eine tolle Stimmung. Komme sicher wieder!