Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was a brief stop over on my drive to Italy. The hotel is very quaint. I liked the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, UK

Nice hotel. Easy. No probs

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Good location. Nice but small room in the roofspace (cheapest room) with shared toilet and shower. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Jodie from Zurich

Great Value for Money - Except in Summer

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Alexandra for 1 night before going day hiking in Ticino. The staff was friendly and helpful and room sparkling clean. BUT the central air conditioning system has units in each room giving off a a loud ERRRHHH sound of an electric motor starting every 2 minutes. It was impossible to sleep, and there are no staff in the hotel overnight. I barely slept 3 hours due to this torturous noise. The staff are aware, and when I complained the next morning they were sympathetic, but said if the AC is off guests will complain of the heat. Apparently no plans to repair it. suggest only staying there in the winter.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Idaho

Quaint hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel Alexandra was a 15 minute or so walk uphill from the train station. Third floor room had some low beams to duck under, and shower and toilet facilities were shared. Room was very clean and we had a view of lake from our window. Breakfast was very nice, and well worth it with the high price of restaurants in Switzerland. We left an item in the room and they mailed it to us, which was really nice of them. Enjoyed our stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

עלות תועלת סבירה.

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Location - 1500 meters walk from Piazza Grande. Covered parking adjacent to the hotel. Air-conditioned room. The room was in the attic, no bathroom and shower included. Toilet and shower were shared. Extra charge room with bathroom and shower included - 40%!! There is no elevator. Dining room with a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susanne from B.C.

Great Hotel for location and value

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: Loved the feel of the old building (villa) , high ceilings, old staircase,but all in tip top shape.
Location: so close to Locarno but not in the middle of all.
Great place to stay just a few minutes to by foot from the Locarno train station. I suggest if arriving by train use the bus for transfer, will stop right in front of the Hotel. (I think it was # 1, get off at stazione sociale or just ask the bus driver, runs every 15 min.) If you are without luggage it's an easy stroll to Locarno, old part of town or lake promenade. The Hotel is very clean ( recently renovated ), staff extremly friendly ask for ideas on what to do. Rooms comfortable not very big for north american standards but was no issue for me. Breakfast simple but all you really need to get going in the morning .(unless you need your eggs & bacon...) Must see : Madonna del Sasso perched on a rock above Locarno , easy to get by funiculare or by foot. (steep climb but well worth the effort) The church is under renovation but still open to visit , amazing frescoes inside the church!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basel

Alexandra

Posted Apr 26, 2011 on Hotels
Very good standard for being a budget hotel. We stayed at the top floor in one of the rooms with shared bathroom. Everything were very clean. Nice breakfast buffé and the most important, friendly and helpful staff. Location is good, just 5-10 minutes walk to the train station, the lake and the city. Will recommend this hotel to all my friends who will go to Locarno.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Familiär

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Personal ist sehr bemüht um die Kunden. Ich erhielt am Tag vor der Anreise einen Anruf, dass es auch ein Zimmer mit Etagen-Dusche gäbe zu einem günstigeren Preis. Vor Ort konnte ich mir das Zimmer anschauen und allenfalls immer doch das reservierte Zimmer beziehen.