Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great location but overpriced for what is offered

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: You cannot beat this location. The breakfast is plentiful and varied.
Cons: Rooms are too small, showers almost impossible to use without bumping into everything.
Location: Tucked away from central Piazza Grande in a maze of windy, cobblestoned streets, the location is fabulous (but see my warning about parking).
I chose Hotel America because of its address (Piazza Grande, no # given). That is a bit of a misnomer: the only part of the establishment fronting the Piazza is the narrow end of its restaurant, the rest being tucked in the narrow, winding, cobblestone streets of the old city. Fair enough. For what it charges, though, and for a supposed three-star hotel, it's hard to see the correlation. The rooms are quite exiguous, the shower stall so small it's hard to slither into, the amenities not plentiful, the TV screen quite small with half of the channels non-functional (but at least CNN & BBC1 were available). No on-demand movies, though. Not quite what was hoped for. No AC at all; this was not a problem in mid-October, though the room was a bit on the chilly side. The location is certainly good, but there is no parking. Clients can get a daily rate of Sfr. 19.- (a bargain in Switzerland) at the Casino/Centro Parking garage, a 5-min. walk away. All-in-all, a bit overpriced & overrated for what is offered, but not a bad solution.
3 out of 5
by Mathieu from Montréal

A good hotel room

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Albergio Americano provided a good hotel room, which was not large, but my choice was the cheapest room they had. The room and bathroom seemed pretty clean, but the floor was a bit sticky. Staff was very friendly, welcoming, and the lady at the desk could speak English, French, German and Italian. The included breakfast was healthy, with a selection of breads and croissants, cold meats, some soft cheeses, fruits, orange juice and coffee. Overall, it was a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Charming, breakfast and location.
We did not have a car, so the location of the hotel was perfect. A few minutes from a bus stop, as well as the train station (which has a great tourist office by the way) and a little bit futher the port. The staff was very kind and helpfull. I would recommend to take the breakfast with your package, worth it. We had a great time. I just want to mention that the hotel is not directly on Piazza Grande, but slitly in the back between to larg building. I guess it is an old bulding remodeled. I don't think you can see the Piazza from the hotel but you are there to visit not sit in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Ketrin Kanalga, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, thank you very much for your lovely comment about our hotel. We are very pleased that you have spent a good time in Locarno and that you have enjoyed your stay. It was a great pleasure for us having you here, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards from Locarno Hotel America
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, good restaurant

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Orbitz
- Great location - Good restaurant - Very friendly staff - Nice and clean room, just as advertised - Unique interior design (might be a little scary for little children ;-)) - Accessibility with a pram was possible but not excellent (narrow elevator & some steps)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Old school European vibes

Posted Aug 26, 2015
It was nice the hotel staff Made a brilliant effort to help us where they could but I would of liked the some hot breakfast kind of expected the different types of breads hams and cheeses but some egg and bacon would of gone down a treat
4 out of 5
by My-Phuong from Zh

Central location

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Super central to piazza grande. Stayed here during the moon&stars festival. Room was ok for a night. Unfortunately no a/c only fan - got quite hot during the night. 10 mins walk from main train station
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FB, Switzerland

Avoid it if you don't need to be at the Piazza Gra

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Difficult to find, no address, English so lala. Room with no AC, 32deg C for over 400 CHF. Breakfast minimum - little value for steep price. Not recommended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Awesome airport location

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels
it was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from New York

Great Deal

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: Location and staff
The staff was great and this was an excellent location right on the main piazza but set back a bit so the rooms were quiet. The staff was very friendly and everyone went out of their way. The rooms are simple but clean and attractive. TV with cable and perfectly fine bathroom. A great breakfast was included. I would stay here again and again.