Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kulmbach

Zimmer gut, Service und Lage mangelhaft

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Design des Badezimmer, Komfort der Betten.
Cons: Service & Beschilderung
Location: Geschäftsreise, Unternehmungen waren nicht möglich. Daher keine Bewertung möglich.
Restaurant bzw Bar können mangels Öffnungszeiten LEIDER nicht Bewertet werden. Erster Schritt, Hotel finden. Mangels Hausnummern mussten wir länger Suchen. Wartezeit beim Check-in war überflüssig. Angaben zum Parken für Ortsfremde nicht sehr Hilfreich. (wieder mit suchen verbunden) Die Zimmer hingegen waren Gut. Die Betten waren Ausgezeichnet. TV und W-Lan in guter Qualität, einfach in der Handhabung. Zimmer waren Sauber. Der Ausblick hingegen entsprach dem, was man nicht haben möchte. Hinterhof, Dreck, Hauswand in schlechtem zustand ca 5m gegenüber. Das Licht im Treppenraum muss man erstmal suchen. Sehr schlecht gemacht im Eingangsbereich. Check-out nahe einer Frechheit. Kein Englisch, Kein Deutsch, nur Italienisch und keine notwendige Kommunikation möglich. Benötigte Infos somit nicht erhalten, Fragen konnten nicht beantwortet werden und es hat ewig gedauert, bis wir eine Rechnung bekamen, die wir am ende nicht gebrauchen konnten. Das Essen können wir nicht bewerten. Das Ambiente der Bar (die als Rezeption kaum zu erkennen ist) schien allerdings gemütlich. Diese hätten wir am Vorabend gerne getestet. Leider schon sehr früh geschlossen. Die Antwort auf meine Mail im Nachgang hat sehr lange auf sich warten lassen. Immerhin eine Entschuldigung und eine brauchbare Rechnung wurden damit Nachgereicht. Unser Fazit, Schöne Zimmer allein sind nicht genug.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great location but overpriced for what is offered

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: You cannot beat this location. The breakfast is plentiful and varied.
Cons: Rooms are too small, showers almost impossible to use without bumping into everything.
Location: Tucked away from central Piazza Grande in a maze of windy, cobblestoned streets, the location is fabulous (but see my warning about parking).
I chose Hotel America because of its address (Piazza Grande, no # given). That is a bit of a misnomer: the only part of the establishment fronting the Piazza is the narrow end of its restaurant, the rest being tucked in the narrow, winding, cobblestone streets of the old city. Fair enough. For what it charges, though, and for a supposed three-star hotel, it's hard to see the correlation. The rooms are quite exiguous, the shower stall so small it's hard to slither into, the amenities not plentiful, the TV screen quite small with half of the channels non-functional (but at least CNN & BBC1 were available). No on-demand movies, though. Not quite what was hoped for. No AC at all; this was not a problem in mid-October, though the room was a bit on the chilly side. The location is certainly good, but there is no parking. Clients can get a daily rate of Sfr. 19.- (a bargain in Switzerland) at the Casino/Centro Parking garage, a 5-min. walk away. All-in-all, a bit overpriced & overrated for what is offered, but not a bad solution.
3 out of 5
by Mathieu from Montréal

A good hotel room

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Albergio Americano provided a good hotel room, which was not large, but my choice was the cheapest room they had. The room and bathroom seemed pretty clean, but the floor was a bit sticky. Staff was very friendly, welcoming, and the lady at the desk could speak English, French, German and Italian. The included breakfast was healthy, with a selection of breads and croissants, cold meats, some soft cheeses, fruits, orange juice and coffee. Overall, it was a good deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proche au centre

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Ebookers
Pas de place de parc. Parking centrale très chère. Très petite chambre.
3 out of 5
by Olivier from Bussigny

Hotel idéal pour un court séjour durant festival

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Séjour d'une nuit, le dernier jour du festival du film de Locarno. Chambre de petite taille, dépourvue de climatisation, par contre un ventilateur sur pied performant et efficace. Accueil agréable. Au matin, la proximité de l'immeuble d'en face est telle que vous entendez des discussions qui résonnent depuis l'immeuble d'en face situé à moins de cinq mètres. Emplacement idéal par contre, sur la piazza grande, si l'on veut jouir des films sans avoir à se déplacer de plus de quelques dizaines de mètres de l'hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Charming, breakfast and location.
We did not have a car, so the location of the hotel was perfect. A few minutes from a bus stop, as well as the train station (which has a great tourist office by the way) and a little bit futher the port. The staff was very kind and helpfull. I would recommend to take the breakfast with your package, worth it. We had a great time. I just want to mention that the hotel is not directly on Piazza Grande, but slitly in the back between to larg building. I guess it is an old bulding remodeled. I don't think you can see the Piazza from the hotel but you are there to visit not sit in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Ketrin Kanalga, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, thank you very much for your lovely comment about our hotel. We are very pleased that you have spent a good time in Locarno and that you have enjoyed your stay. It was a great pleasure for us having you here, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards from Locarno Hotel America
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, good restaurant

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Orbitz
- Great location - Good restaurant - Very friendly staff - Nice and clean room, just as advertised - Unique interior design (might be a little scary for little children ;-)) - Accessibility with a pram was possible but not excellent (narrow elevator & some steps)
4 out of 5
by Biagio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Pedro from Rio de Janeiro

bom

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Nossa estadia foi otima. A unica coisa que nao gostei e que eramos 2 casais e os quartos eram bem diferentes. o meu era muito pequeno e a tv ficava ao lado da cama ficando muito ruim.
3 out of 5
by Hanspeter from Esslingen

Albergo America

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Kurzaufenthalt im Oktober - Wetter war leider nicht optimal - einziger Sonnentag eignete sich gut für einen Ausflug auf den Cardada und anschliessender Downhill-Wanderung auf steinigem Untergrund nach Orselina - Locarno ist allemal eine Reise wert - Leute waren trotz baldigem Saisonende sehr freundlich.