Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

No joy in Lugano

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: On a positive note, the staff were accommodating when we asked to leave a day early. Indeed, the front desk staff were all very nice.
Cons: Everything. Rebuild, refurbish, retrain.
Location: Location is an easy walk to the lake.
The hotel is tired and in need of a complete overhaul. Furnishings are dated. Bathrooms are old with obvious water damage. Floors are sloped beyond what could be considered "old world charm". Worse than all of this was the surly employees. We felt like intruders in the over-priced yet mediocre pizzeria. The bar staff were often missing. The breakfast was a strange affair -- it appeared to be catering to large tour groups. The staff seemed overwhelmed and the warm food was inedible. Although I can't point to the source with absolute certainty, I am confident a case of acute intestinal distress was due to the breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you appreciated the location of our property. The comments of our guests are for us always the best way to know where and how we can improve. We tried to better understand with our emloyees what has happened during your stay because the attitude you have reported is NOT PART of our hospitality’s concept. Concerning breakfast, we assure that all the products are fresh, we do not heat up any kind of food (eggs are made every morning, bacon, sausages, vegetables etc..), but we thank you for your opinion. Regarding the refurbishment, we inform you that the building was built in 1905 and since then we have always tried to maintain a very specific and historical character while the rooms are continuously renovated. Thank you again for the letting us know your opinion, we hope you will give us an other chance to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire, UK

Great hotel & location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: 5 minutes from the lake. 10 minutes from the town.
Great hotel, good location. Helpful staff. Great choice for breakfast. Beds were very hard. No iron in room so had to use maid service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the positive remarks. The comments of our guests are for us always the best way to know where and how we can improve. Thank you again for the letting us know your opinion, we hope you will give us an other chance to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Ebookers
Never a 4Star Hotel. Rather 3. Too much Group travelling. Sowith relation to the hotel rate is not convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flawless!!!

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing in every way, should be 5 star!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ernst, Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay here at our Hotel. We are glad, that we could meet your expectations! We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
by Bijan from Surrey

Good Four Star Hotel Very Near the Lake

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is clean and well presented. The staff are friendly and speak many languages. Wifi was fast and the mini-bar was free. It is situated two minutes from the lake and 20 minutes walk to the main shopping and restaurant centre but it is one of the most beautiful walks you can have. Hotels.com said there was an airport shuttle which there isn't and the hotel staff were surprised. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was larger than almost any four-star hotel I have been in. Breakfast was well above average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

European trip

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Nice experience. The location : The hotel is easy accessible and near the city center. We had a beautiful view of the lack and the mountains on the fifth floor The single beds were very small & relatively uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear May, Thank you for your feedback. We take good note of your remarks and we are glad you appreciated the the view and the location. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arzier Switzerland

Great Hotel, Comfortable & friendly helpful staff

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Nothing was a real problem. Staff were all very friendly & very helpful. Reasonable location - a little far to walk in hot sun to and from centre.
Cons: See above
Location: Interesting city,.many nearby lakeside villages with good restaurants, lake cruises and walks all available.
Room 513, advertised as a suite but just one very large room. However balcony-terrace around two sides of the room with fantastic views of the lake, hills and town made it a superb room. Clean and modern bathroom, very comfortable bed with a solid mattress - I have a back problem which means I cannot sleep in a very soft bed. Only (minor !) problem was the armchair and settee in the sitting part of the room were old and the chair was uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
by Geoff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hsiangying S.

a comfortable place to stay

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on HotelClub
A very cozy place to stay. The value of money is high.