Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice property but sorely out of date. Rooms and bathrooms are clean but 30 + years old. Staff was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel building was old but seemed properly maintained. However many utilities installations (eg. Gym room equipment etc.) were quite out-dated and worn-out. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Morning breakfast buffet was quite disappointing. Not much to choose, quality was a let-down. It's close to the train/bus terminus but it's all slopes or steps you need climb. Might not be easy with luggage. Overall not bad but definitely not excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The cleanest hotel ever!

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
I have travelled quite extensively and probably spend at least 25 nights per year in a hotel, if not more. The studio suite in this hotel was the cleanest that I have ever stayed in. There was not a speck of mold to be seen in the shower grout and the kitchen was equally impeccable. This hotel is a 3 minute walk from the train station and about 3 minutes down into the main town square.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value in good location

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Lugano is a terrific place and Hotel Federale is great from a location and value standpoint..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: So much character! We'll never forget the first impression that it made.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing. It's a gem!
Location: Just steps down from the station, once you drop off your bags you're in the heart of Lugano's lake front old town.
It's absolutely charming and just steps down hill from the train station. The manager was extremely welcoming and gave us an upgraded room, without asking, and a ton of brochures and discount cards as we checked in. I was afraid that it might be a little frayed at the edges because it's got an old fashioned feel, but couldn't have been more wrong. Every bit is impeccably maintained, with absolutely the cleanest bathrooms that I've ever encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great location only 5 minutes from the city center, shops and restaurants, the Lugano train station is only 5 minutes across the street, very friendly staff, good food, our room was clean and with 3 individual beds, two were together and one apart since my husband and me were traveling with our 15 yr old son It was perfect and the room had a good size, we are traveling again to Lugano in a few months and we are definitely staying at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin New Zealand

Old world charm, New world facilities !

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Dining alfresco ( outside ) proximity to city and railway station,great views of city and lake. More of us Kiwis and Aussies should stay here
Cons: All o.k.with us.
Location: 10 easy minutes to city centre 3 minutes to railway station.
Hotel Federale is 3 mins walk from the railway station, and easy 10minute walk to the city and wonderful lakefront. The hotel staff focus on friendly service, great food and lovely clean rooms.All in all a very pleasant experience !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Handy to the station and town.

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The restricted view of the lake, having breakfast in the garden and the staff were very nice.
Cons: Without tearing down the hotel I don't think the room sizes could be increased.
Location: Location is on top of the town and very handy to all activities but be warned, Lugano is located at the bottom of very steep hills.
We had the smallest room we have ever experienced in Europe!!
5 out of 5
by Amber from Rotkreuz

Great find!

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Easter weekend getaway. Location is perfect - across from the train station (without any train noise) and a 1 minute walk to shops, restaurants, piazza, etc.