Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: So much character! We'll never forget the first impression that it made.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing. It's a gem!
Location: Just steps down from the station, once you drop off your bags you're in the heart of Lugano's lake front old town.
It's absolutely charming and just steps down hill from the train station. The manager was extremely welcoming and gave us an upgraded room, without asking, and a ton of brochures and discount cards as we checked in. I was afraid that it might be a little frayed at the edges because it's got an old fashioned feel, but couldn't have been more wrong. Every bit is impeccably maintained, with absolutely the cleanest bathrooms that I've ever encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great location only 5 minutes from the city center, shops and restaurants, the Lugano train station is only 5 minutes across the street, very friendly staff, good food, our room was clean and with 3 individual beds, two were together and one apart since my husband and me were traveling with our 15 yr old son It was perfect and the room had a good size, we are traveling again to Lugano in a few months and we are definitely staying at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin New Zealand

Old world charm, New world facilities !

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Dining alfresco ( outside ) proximity to city and railway station,great views of city and lake. More of us Kiwis and Aussies should stay here
Cons: All o.k.with us.
Location: 10 easy minutes to city centre 3 minutes to railway station.
Hotel Federale is 3 mins walk from the railway station, and easy 10minute walk to the city and wonderful lakefront. The hotel staff focus on friendly service, great food and lovely clean rooms.All in all a very pleasant experience !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Charming hotel with friendly staff

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Conveniently located, this was a very pleasant place to stay during my short business trip. A quick walk to restaurants and shops, and a 15 minute walk into downtown Lugano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Good, quiet hotel close to the railway station

Posted Oct 29, 2015
This hotel has a slighty old fashioned air about it but I mean that in the best possible way. It has lots of wood panelling and reminded me of hotels that my grandmother liked many years ago. Its also very comfortable and despite being so close to the station its very quiet. I don't usually like dining in a hotel but as I'd hurt my ankle and couldn't face the hill climb from the city centre too often I did so twice. The food was excellent and I have to mention the very hard working waiter whose attentive service added to the good experience. My room was comfortable although the shower was a little different from the usual, but it worked fine. The only slight annoyance was that the English TV channels had all been changed to Italian or German ones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Great location and amazing staff!

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Centrally located to both the train station and the downtown plaza.
Cons: Parking is a little inconvenient, but they do have a garage for guests.
Location: Located halfway between the Lugano train station and the downtown plaza, it's a great place to stay for business or pleasure.
This is my third stay and I have no hesitations recommending this great hotel. The entire staff, from the front desk, restaurant and housekeeping, all are friendly and always willing to go out of their ways to make your stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

A lovely Hotel Near the Station

Posted Aug 13, 2015
From check-in to check-out a lovely experience. A warm welcome, a clean comfortable room, dinner suggestions, a good night's sleep, a lovely breakfast, a nice touch at check-out, followed by a ride to the bus stop. What else can we ask for?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room/ Bathroom

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Excellent hotel with very nice rooms and excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID, USA

Perfect Location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
We were on a Swiss Rail pass so this location, basically down a ramp from the main train station in Lugano was perfect. It was also only a couple more minutes of walking through a pedestrian zone to the center of town and the lake-front. We were there during a heat wave and greatly appreciated the air conditioning in the room. Breakfast was very pleasant in a courtyard setting with wonderful flowers all around. A great refuge from the hustle and bustle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Staff

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Cons: The décor is a little dated.
It was great. Loved the location; we arrived and left by train which is steps away (though there is no noise). Around the corner from Hertz rental and a very short walk into the center of the old town. Incredibly kind and helpful staff.