Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Ebookers
Great central location within walking distance of the lake and ships. Easy to find and close by to many good bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, cozy hotel close to downtown and the lake

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Location: The hotel is downtown, surrounded by shops, bars, clubs, the casino, some hotels, the civic park, and the incline to Mount Bre.
This is a fairly nice hotel in downtown Lugano, a few blocks away from the lake shore. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are clean and cozy, but not particularly luxurious. They come with very simple beds, table and chairs, a sink, a table fan, a wardrobe, and a tv. The showers and toilets are in the hallway. This is a bit unusual for people used to international hotels, but common in Europe, and did not cause an inconvenience during my week long stay. A breakfast buffet is provided, and consists of a selection of cold cuts, cheeses, breads, yogurts, juices, cereals, and fruit. Cooked breakfast is available for purchase, as is room service and other meals. This was one of the cheaper options available when I was looking for hotels, and with that in mind it's very satisfying. It does a good job of giving you easy access to central Lugano, but the hotel itself is not an attraction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Esad from Salt Lake City, USA

Nightmare Hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very bad experience. For $140 you get ancient room without bathroom nor air conditioning. It was very hot and I couldn't sleep much because of that. Bathroom is somewhere outside and (for $140) I even had to clean it. Can you imagine that's?? Also hotel doesn't have enough parking lots. I had to park on the street and pay for it. Lodging in this hotel doesn't worth it more then $30-$40. Shame for such a nice city.
2 out of 5
by paul from Saint Louis

Save money if you accept hostel-like conditions

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Offered bare essentials in an absurdly expensive city. No a/c. Our shared bathroom and shower were down the hall. Beds were marginal. But everything was clean. The front desk was very, very helpful. The free breakfast was fine, and the hotel's restaurant was the only reasonably priced meal within a mile. If you want to save, consider it. Think of it as a hostel for grown-ups.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
they need to offer AC in the summer and a lamp for the table. It is hard to read in that room at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Should have been better

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: cleanliness, smell in room (perfume)
It is fine to have something very basic when you don't pay much for a hotel but this one looked somehow unclean, the shower was half blocked, and there was an annoying old lady smell perfume in the room that just feels like its covering up something wrong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Small, modest hotel, good location.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The front desk staff all seemed to speak excellent English and were very helpful.
Cons: There was no air conditioning and the room was a little warm even considering the time of year.
Location: It's well located, within walking distance of most of the things that you want to get to in the central part of town.
This was my third visit to the hotel so I knew what to expect. Nothing fancy but reasonably priced considering how expensive this country is. The staff is great, helpful but low key at the same time.
4 out of 5
by Edward from Seminole, FL

A reasonably priced hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for 4 days while visiting Lugano. Our room was large, #32, especially by European standards. Location was within walking distance of the lake and shopping or just hop on the buses frequently going by. We arrived by train, walking to hotel is way to far and a bus is a bit of a hassle so we took a cab. I definitely recommend this as fare was 22 CH. The hotel staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was average, didn't notice any eggs. Would stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but overpriced

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel but overpriced considering there was no air-conditioning in the room and it was during a heatwave when I stayed. Room is basic but has everything you need but I would advise to check with the hotel whether the room has air-conditioning if staying in the summer.