Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and price

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Hotel was very clean and comfort. Hotel staff was very kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This was a good hotel in a good location. It is about a 15 minute bus ride from the main station. And walking distance to one of the cable cars taking you up the mountain. Very close to the waterfront and an easy walk to the main part of town. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. We had only wished they offered a continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: Nothing
Well located hotel with close access to the center of town by train and bus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

GVFM hotel close to centre with basic room

Posted Jun 27, 2015
GVFM hotel close to centre with basic room, 20 mins from centre, just around corner from furnocular
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from india

Very bad experience.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Rooms are very small, suffocating and lack basic amenities like kettle, extra napkins, mini bar etc. Had no space to move in the room. Hotel staff was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2015 by E.Amat, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Dhanesh, Thank you for taking the time to share your overall impressions about your stay at the ibis Lugano Paradiso. We are delighted to hear your compliments about our staff. Please be assured your comment will shared with our team. Concerning the ibis concept, we are sorry did not totally meet your expectations. We inform you, that in the same complex, there is a four stars hotel, Novotel. The rooms provided with kettle and mini bar, will be closer to your needs. It is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome back in Lugano Paradiso Yours Sincerely Eva Amat – Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean & comfortable with sufficient room
Location: Very close to the Lake Lugano & funicular to top of mountain. Plenty of walking & boat activities
Very comfortable hotel close to the lake, funicular to top of mountain & a pleasant walk to Lugano & the old town which takes about 15-20 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderfully comfortable beds in Lugano.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Wonderfully comfortable beds and spacious shower. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Twin beds are just that. Two twin beds next to each other that cannot be separated.
Location: 5 minutes walk to Lugano-Paradiso station. 20 minutes walk into Lugano itself along the lake side.
One night stay. Check-in efficient and very helpful. Good selection at breakfast. WI-Fi very reliable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel in good location.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and location.
Cons: The flooring in the room.
Location: 15 minutes walk from city centre.
The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the city centre (lovely walk with a view to the lake and mountains), or a 5 minutes bus ride. The staff is incredibly helpful and kind. I have never seen such lovely staff in a budget hotel. The room is basic, but I did not expect more based on price. The downside is the weird fibre (? carpet) flooring, which feels a bit weird/unpleasant to walk around with bare feet. The Shower is nice, but there is no threshold, so if you are not careful you can easily flood the whole thing. I would come back if I was on a low budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Retired couple from USA

Typical Ibis hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: It sufficed.
Cons: Make parking and breakfast prices reasonable. Based on feedback from people we met, the Best Western on the waterfront is better and not much more $.
Location: Lugano is fine and worth a day, but it is not as pretty or charming as other towns and lakes in Northern Italy and the little dip of Switzerland.
Ibis is the Ryan Air or Spirit Air of hotels. The basic price is good, but they get you by charging for the extras. Parking and breakfast were way overpriced. As is typical of the chain, the room was spotless and efficient, but totally without character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Tillsonburg, Ontario, . Canada

Been there before.

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Bed.
Cons: Bar and Breakfast no customers.
Location: Location is 20 minutes walking, 5 by bus. Immediate area has many restaurants and bars. Nice wine shop at the corner near the bus stop.
This is a new hotel so it should be clean and comfortable. It was. Breakfast was expensive and nothing outstanding. Cross the street to Holiday Inn and 25% cheaoer and more choice. Hotel part of 3 facilities together, from budget Ibis, to Ibis class and then Novotel. I was Ibis but still not a deal price wise without breakfast. Novotel was a very nice bar but expensive. Room was like a preconstructed modular cube placed into a building but clean and comfy for one person. The bed was very acceptable for size and comfort. A 20 minute beauty walk along the lake to the city centre, or wait for a bus 100 metres away. Lugano itself is great.