Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bew York

Nice hotel, perfect location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness. Staff was very helpful.
Location: Central location, walking distance to all the major attractions
Hotel is centrally located, right in front of the lake and close to the train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and a wonderful view of Lake Lugano.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great breakfast, sparse rooms

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel rooms themselves were very dated with scratchy towels and sparse linens. But the location could not have been better: right across the road from the lake and near lots of restaurants/shopping. Also the breakfast buffet was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Avoid this hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Having travelled extensively throughout Europe and the USA, this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. For the price paid I expected far more however was left severely disappointed. The rooms are clean,albeit very small with no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities and the pillows on the bed are shocking. The staff are unfriendly, particularly Gerrard at breakfast time who is downright rude - I heard many guests complaining and hopefully they will follow up with a bad review
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Roberto Schmid, Hotel Management
Dear Mr David, we sincerely regret your feelings about your stay with us. We have deeply inspected your room after your departure and could not find anything wrong with the beds. What makes you say “shocking”? Our staff is available 24 hrs and ready to assist in case of need and we are sorry you did not make use of this possibility during your stay. We advertise in the room that tea and coffee making facilities are available for free on request, guests just need to call reception and the complete set-up is delivered within minutes. We will internally address you comment with regards to the restaurant staff; online ratings on our staff are by other customers extremely positive and our guests do rate friendliness very high. I do hope you will give us another chance to convince you and we would be pleased to welcome you soon again at the International au Lac. Sincerely yours Roberto Schmid Hotel International au Lac, Lugano * * *s Fam. Schmid, propr. dir.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location and price

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: location and charm
Location: Everything is nearby - Lake Lugano, old town, restaurants and bars, churches and other historical sites, luxury shopping, etc.
This hotel is walking distance from everything (train station, bus stop, town, lake, etc.). The interior maintains old world charm but is still comfortable and updated with all necessary modern conveniences. Furthermore, I sprung for a lake view room and spent a lot of peaceful time on my balcony where I could take it all in. Great spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay at Lugano

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Closeness to the lake. The front room save a very nice view to the lake, but you have to pay extra. Shopping area, restaurants are near. No car needed
Cons: The room would be better with a fridge and coffee machine. Need plugs for phones and iPad in every room. They have some at front desk but not enough.
Location: Lake is cross the street. Very nice area to walk. Shopping of brands are all over. Nice restaurants , but expensive.
Comfortable place with very nice staff. Lake is just cross the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the lake

Posted Jul 11, 2016
The hotel is close to the lake and also to eating and shopping places
4 out of 5
by Mike

Nice place, great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Handy location, a bit pricey but, its Switzerland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant, nice hotel with full breakfast, great location in Lugano, beautiful garden, close to ll the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

great hotel - overlooks the lake and in the centre

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff - very efficient. very good room with good facilities
Cons: Internet connection very poor - constantly cuts out
Location: great location. I attended the Martha Argerich Festival in excellent concert halls around the town
fabulous hikes around the lake and in the mountains .fabouous weather - sun shining every day with an average of 25 celsius