Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Perfect stay with reasonable prices

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: extended opening hours for breakfast at fesitval times (ombres & luce)
very nice and warm welcome, very comfortable room, perfectly situated directly at the Lago Maggiore, breakfast in front of the Lago Maggiore, very relaxing :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Heblinsky, thank you very much for the good review. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tillsonburg, Ont

Pretty hotel with great views

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Hotel staff was great. Wonderful view of the lake right across the street. No english spoken or understood in the restaurant. Menus were in italian or german.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno sallij, thank you very much for the good review. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Hotel needs complete redecoration They should put in a pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, thank you for your review. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely lake views

Posted Sep 29, 2014
All hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to have a room with a lake view - what a treat! The breakfast offered plenty of choices of which we certainly indulged! The decor of our room was very dated but it was so spacious, comfortable and clean. All in all a fantastic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno CD, thank you very much for the good review that you made about our hotel. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Another Very Enjoyable Visit to This Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, quiet, breakfast on the terrace.
Location: I recommend: A boat trip on Lake Maggiore, an evening drink on the Katja Boat (a floating bar that moors near to the hotel), a day trip to Lugano.
This was my third visit to the Ramada Hotel La Palma, this time for six nights - the previous visits were for one night only. Once again I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. A huge bonus is the location, for these reasons; The hotel is only a short walk (five to ten minutes) from the railway station. Once you are settled in, using the rear entrance through the car park is the most direct route to the station. The hotel is situated on a quiet road, immediately adjacent to the lakeside. The main town centre (Locarno Piazza Grande) is no more than ten minutes walk away. The boat stop is no more than five minutes walk away. I found the staff on reception at check in/out to be very friendly and helpful - and they spoke excellent English. Breakfast staff were also friendly and eating breakfast outside on the terrace in the fresh morning air was lovely. My room was at the rear of the hotel (not on the lake side - but this was no surprise as I knew I was paying a lower than average price) - even so there are pleasant views up to the hills at the rear of the town. The room was spacious, clean and quiet.. In summary I think this hotel is a super base for a holiday in the Ticino region. On a couple of days I took the train to Lugano - about 1 hour, and one change, from Locarno - it was very easy. I would be very happy to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Peter, knowing that you have enjoyed your stay that much is just amazing to us. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricardo from Lisbon

Great location!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The location. The view.
Cons: No social areas. The mattress was a bit hard. The parking space is very little for a hotel this size. We had to park on the street.
Locarno is a beautiful city and the Ramada La Palma is the perfect spot to stay. the lake view from the bedrooms is amazing! The hotel is very close to the historical centre and restaurants. Perfect spot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Ricarco, thank you very much for the good review you left about our hotel. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Haywards Heath, UK

Good Hotel, Excellent Location

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Location: The location is excellent, near to the lake and boat stop. I recommend a boat trip to nearby Ascona and a cable car ride to Cardada.
I was very pleased that I booked this hotel for my one night visit. Having considered a number of cheaper hotels with very mixed reviews, I found a mid-priced room offer at the Ramada La Palma. When I arrived the receptionist was very friendly and efficient, and spoke excellent English. The room was clean and had everything required for my visit; it was situated at the rear of the hotel but even then the views up to the hills were pleasant and there was no problem with noise. Breakfast was a generous buffet with good choice of bread rolls and the normal continental breakfast fare. The location of the hotel is excellent - very near to the lakeside but easily accessed on foot from the railway station and also a short stroll from the main town centre of Locarno (5-10 minutes maximum). In summary this is a nice hotel in a good location and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Peter, thank you very much for the excellent review that you left about our hotel. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray and Dianne from Melbourne

Fantastic Surprise

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Location, comfort and views
Cons: Restaurant could be better
Location: Great spot in a beautiful town on lake Maggiore (in Switzerland). Take the funicular to the church overlooking the town.
Lucarno was the surprise packet of our road trip in Europe. Ramada Hotel La Palma was in a graet spot overlooking the lake and lovely lakeside gardens. We had a great view from our room and our hire car was safely parked in the street out the front. The room was roomy, well fitted and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Restaurant staff were not clear on gluten-free food so we ate at a restaurant nearby. There was no pool but we only had one day and there was plenty to see so no time to sit around a pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Ray and Dianne, thank you very much for the excellent review that you have left about our hotel. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location.

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Lobby and dining area could use some updating.
Close to train station, close to many restaurants, right across from the lake and there was a great little playground for kids on the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, thank you very much for the good review. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Zollernalbkreis

Schönes Hotel ruhig aber zentral

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Das Personal war sehr freundlich, besonders an der Rezeption
Cons: Das Frühstück, war in Dresden besser. Z. B. - Tomaten, Gurken usw. fehlen
Location: Strandpromenade,sehr zentral aber trotzdem ruhig. Man kann Wanderungen, Ausflüge nach Italien, Bootsfahrten usw. machen
Wir konnten uns gut erholen, machten Ausflüge und Wanderungen,z.B. Verzasca-Tal, Fahrt nach Italien, usw. Sehr gepflegtes Umfeld,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by General Manager Cinzia Belingheri und Team, Hotel Management
Lieber Dieter, recht herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, welche Sie für unser Hotel abgegeben haben. Es hat uns sehr gefreut, dass Sie überwiegend mit der Dienstleistung des Hotels sowie den Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption zufrieden waren. Dennoch nehmen wir Ihren Hinweis bezüglich kleinen Mängel am Frühstücksbuffet ernst und werden die Mitarbeiter darüber informieren. Es ist nicht immer selbstverständlich, dass unsere Gäste sich diese wertvolle Zeit nehmen, um uns die Verbesserungen oder einfach die positiven Punkte wissen zu lassen, deshalb nochmals unseren besten Dank. Ihnen wünschen wir eine gute Zeit und wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.