Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Comfortable hotel with a great view

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Location: Lungano is approx a 25 minute walk from the hotel along the side of the lake. Explore the town, go on a boat trip and go up the Mont Bre funicular.
Our check in was handled by a very helpful young lady who took the time to actually take us to our room (instead of just telling us where it was), pointing out the locations of the restaurants, bar, pool, etc on the way. A nice touch which should be more common as it made us feel really welcome. Our room was a great size with plenty of room and good air-con which was a blessing on such a hot day. Our balcony had room for a small table, two chairs and a sun lounger, and had a lovely view of the lake and Lugano. The town is about a 20 min walk along the lake side, but the hotel is right next to a bus stop if you don't feel like walking. If walking back to the hotel, it is up a really steep hill which may make life difficult if you had luggage/pushchairs etc. We ate at the restaurant a couple of nights, and the food was excellent. Didn't try the Japanese part but it looked fascinating. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Lugano in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice and confortable.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
It was just ike a paradise. Great lication, nice breakfast and confortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui, HI

Very nice hotel at Lugano Paridiso

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We had a Large 1 bedroom modern room with nice view of the lake. Room would rate a 4.5 stars. Breakfast buffet included. Located very close to the Paridiso train and Bus stop, however a fairly strenuous uphill climb. People with physical or luggage issues might consider taking a taxi. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Stunning view. Very large, livable suite.
Cons: Would be nice if they had an outside bar.
Location: There are a couple of nice restaurants at the bottom of the hill below the hotel. The railway and bus station are in easy walking distance.
I had an upgraded suite with a view of the lake. The view was awesome. The balcony is large enough that you can fit two chaise lounges, two chairs and a table. You can relax out there at night and view the city lights reflecting off the lake. The rooms were large, clean and well appointed. The from the hotel it is a short walk to the train and bus station. There are only two negatives. One, the view comes with a cost. The hotel is on a steep hill and getting up that hill can leave you winded. Two, the hotel is located in Paradiso and most of the attractions are in Lugano. There is a beautiful lake side walk that gets you to Lugano but if you do not like walking you might want a hotel closer to Lugano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice ambiance , great breakfast buffet

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: nice , comfortable , friendly
Cons: Non
Location: Lugano is a great city. Very old down town, with markets nice small walking ways. Beautiful lake and mountain view
Just stayed one night but was friendly and great breakfast buffet
1 out of 5
by A Milani from Calgary, AB, Canada

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: The swimming pool
Cons: Staff Attitude
Location: Far from the town centre
We arrived at the hotel on a hot day to find out the so called 4star hotel does not have air conditioning in their room eventhough we had a lake view suite booked. When we asked for air conditioned room they offered one for an extra 50 Swiss Franks. What is quite normal in any 4 star joint all around the world was considered an extra service. The Japones restaurant was nice but super expensive, 366 Swiss Franks was the cost of our dinner for three. In the end, we paid the extra charge but the air conditioning system had a remote control that was out of battery. Any how overall a disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marian from Boston

Nice views, far from Lugano for walking purposes

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Nice view, but the view also included a large portion of the roof below.
Cons: The pool was inside which did not provide any refreshment from the extreme heat and humidity. There also was no air conditioning. Very very sticky!
Location: A long walk down the hill/mountain took you to the lake and a few restaurants. Lugano is another mile or so walk along the lake.
The hotel is located part way up one of the mountains next to Lake Lugano Our family of 4 (two parents and two teens) stayed for 2 nights. The hill to climb and descend when walking to town is extremely steep. Luckily we are all athletic and work out everyday. It would be very difficult for any person to enjoy the walk in the extreme heat and humidity if they were not in top physical shape. Taxis are extremely expensive for the benefits they give. For the price I would have chosen a hotel closer to the town of Lugano. When checking out we were handed a bill that included two items that we never consumed from the mini bar. They were finally removed after the clerk spoke with management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JMA100 from Basel, Switzerland

Beautiful spot within walking distance of Lugano

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: View
Cons: In need of some updating
Location: Great views, but you need to be prepared to walk up hill!
Great location for exploring Lugano. Very friendly and helpful staff on reception. We had a suite with a lake view, which was wonderful for sitting out on the balcony after the children were in bed. Breakfast is also well worth trying and extremely reasonable cost wise. The children also enjoyed the hotel pool, which always seemed empty. The only downside is the hotel does seem to be a little tired. All in all though a great few ays away. If you have kids the Lido in Lugano is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bill from Boston

The most amazing view of Lake Lugano.

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: The view was the best.
Cons: No major issues.
Location: Easy access to train and funicular to Mount San Salvatore. Within walking distance of town.
The lake side rooms are a must. A complimentary bottle of prosceco on ice was waiting for us when we returned from dinner. Easy access to the highway by automobile with free parking. Very pleasant staff. The walk to town is about 25 minutes downhill. The walk back was good exercise and welcomed after dinner, but would be a bit much for those not in shape. I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a larger room that slept two adults and two teenagers comfortably with door separation between the beds. Ideal for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

magnificent stay in lugano

Posted May 23, 2013
Cons: Nothing, for us we knew that it was not walking distance to downtown so we planned on renting a car.
We had an amazing experience at Parco Paradiso. The hotel staff was all wonderful. The room exceded our expectations.They had the most yummy, confortable beds and duvets. The buffet breakfast was great. It was in a beautiful park like setting.