Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great beach! They're filming fear the walking dead here 😊
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxnard

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Jun 22, 2017
The hotel is nothing like the photos. It was not worth what we spent. It was like staying at a motel 6. The pier, pool, one of their patios were closed for renovations. We were woken up both mornings to chisleing outside our room and kept up by fireworks (not their fault) but still lacked sleep while there. Overall it needs a lot of work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week days

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I stayed there in the middle of the week, the facility it's nice, close to everything, restaurants, bars, nightclubs and the beach, their restaurant has good food, but the vive in there is very particular in a sence of grandma's living room. The lobby is not very welcoming. The room was in a ok condition, their were marks of dirt in the shower tub, clean and comfortable beds and a great view, the time on the clock was wrong, no matter how many times I fixed it, it kept on moving 1 or 2 hours ahead so I always thought it was later. WiFi in rooms not so good, you would get good reception in restaurant, lobby or pool, but you couldn't charge your phone on any of this places. Overall it was an ok stay since I did not use the facilities for a long time, since I was out the hotel for the most part.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Third world hotel and staff for sure

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Ocean front, location to main street
Cons: Hotel management
I stayed in the original section of the hotel. Upon check in they place a tag/bracelet on your wrist that you cannot remove for any reason, if you do, you will be required to stand in the very slow check in line to prove you are who you are. The problem, when you travel the town everyone knows where you are staying, not good. The weather was cold and the room heater did not work, room temperature 62 degrees! I stayed 2 nights and could not get anyone to come check the heater. I approached the front dest on night 2 and the response was cold and short, "let us know if you need another blanket". I just slept through it which sent me home with a severe cold. Never again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Beach view

Posted May 4, 2017
Great location. Great security. Hotel needs an upgrade but it's forgivable because the stuff is so amazing and it's location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Housekeeping not thorough in cleanliness. Bad odor in bathroom area. Towels hard. Pillows thin, flat when you lay your head.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from x

Hotel is close to the beach.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We stayed at this hotel for three days. We checked in at 1PM and was advised to wait until 4PM for us to get the room key. While waiting for the 4PM, we decided to walk to the beach. The place was so nice and we really like. Then at 4PM, we came back to the hotel to get the key so that we could bring or stuff inside our room and take a rest after a six hour drive. Our room was on the 7th floor. When we were already at the front door of our assigned room, the key that was issued to us was not working. I had to go down to the reception area to let the lady know that the key she gave was not working. After checking what the problem was, the lady told me that the door key she gave me was not for the room that she told us and not for the room number that she wrote on the key envelop but rather for a different room. Then she handed me back the keys without any word. On our second day, we went for a breakfast at the pancake house walking distance from the hotel. After our breakfast, we went back straight to the hotel and went up to our room which is on the 7th floor. While I was opening the door, our door keys did not work. I had to go down again to the reception area to let them know that the key was not working. The same lady again at the front desk that I encountered on our first day, she then activated again our room keys so that we could use it. Again, she handed me back the keys without explaining. Before you go to your room check your key if it will work!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Room!!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The place is great location and beutifull BUT the rooms are old the hallways are old needs and update and for a 1 night stay too pricey almost $200 .00
4 out of 5
by Juanita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Humberto

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very old (90 years old) the water was cold at night. I asked for a standard king as they put it. The bed was not even a queen size, it was a full size. They show you the new tower rooms but give you the 90 year old rooms. They also pitch for a time share while you are there but, who would want to buy there when they can't take care of the older parts of the hotel. Never staying there again even if it was free. The people that work there are friendly and helpful. The problem is that if they are trying to sell the new tower time share they should show you that they can manage the old part of the hotel first. The place needs some restorations. They are doing some plastering to the face of the building. Even the cheapest hotels have shampoo for the guest. My fault I didn't bring my own.