Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for snorkelling off the shore and relax

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More friendly and supportive staff at reception and diving team, main activity in the resort. Better cleaning of the rooms.
Nice hotel to relax with good options specially for lunch and dinner. Pleasant service at restaurant. The cleaning staff is aware of the amount of ants in the beach villas. I would expect a much better cleaning process to avoid this, and a quicker removal of the room dishes/cuttlery...when dining in room to avoid an even higher amount of ants and other little animals. Reception hotel not too friendly and not too supportive. Diving is a main activity for choosing this hotel. This hotel has a house dive team. However, reception did NOT offer an alternative diving company when the diving for the next days was complete, telling us simply to wait for a day in which the on house dive team had availability. This gesture was very unwelcome from our side as they perfectly know that there are only 2 more diving companies nearby and they could have provided us with the contact details, but they did not. In addition, they last cancelled diving activities last minute if the number of divers was not as high as expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Secluded location

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: Staff training and attitude.
Location: great snorkeling place
I was very much looking forward to the stay, but the hotel was not worth the price. The staff clearly treated some people much better than others and it was not clear why. For example some tables in the restaurant always got fresh flowers some none. There were also "special" dishes offered to some people and not others. The reception staff was unenthusiastic and actually dissuaded us from doing excursions. Of all the front desk staff, only one was nice and helpful. The manager showed little care and was absent most days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wusia, Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your stay with us. We are sad to read you did not enjoyed staying with us, and to read such a bad feedback. Indeed, we take care of all our guests in the same way, especially at the restaurant, where usually the staff gets very good comments for their kindness and service. We are very sorry if it is not the feeling you had. The flowers are coming fresh every morning from the village, located 15 minutes by boat from the hotel. We do not understand your note regarding special dishes. They are on request, and also proposed by our Maître d'Hôtel, to all our guests, usually after 3 nights. We did offer these specials to you as well. The first days of your stay, you did not want to try them, and on 1 day, you did try them (shrimps). Regarding excursions, you stayed with us during a few days bad weather period. We are very sad you were not able to go in excursions but the weather (for which we are not responsible for) was not good enough for security reasons. The Hotel Manager was on property, as usual, and you met her as well. At that time, you never complained about anything, answering that everything was fine. We are very sad you did not say anything about your bad experience with us at that time. At least, we could have try to do something, as we usually do in such a case. Be sure we are really concerned and sorry when one guest's stay does not correspond to his expectations. We hope the rest of your stay in Polynesia was fine, if not during your stay in Tikehau. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, but No internet connection

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: beautiful site and nice staff.
Cons: Internet connection
Location: Paradise location. Snorkeling, Kayak, swimming,
It is a very nice hotel, in a paradise location. you can see sharks, beautiful fishes under the bungalows. Restaurant a little pricy and no Internet connection in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your kind message, and sorry for our late answer. We are very happy to read your stay met your expectations. For information, internet is available only at the desk, restaurant and bar, not in the rooms (High speed internet does not exist in this part of the world, and we only have 1 telephone line, so the signal would be too weak, if shared between 37 rooms). These days it works pretty ok, at least to read emails, send a picture or connecting on social networks. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our paradise. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oahu, hawaii

Spectacular

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Location: Relax, snorkle, surf, relax some more.
The most spectacular setting I've ever visited, in a hotel of perfect simple luxury. Specially enjoyed the Tahitian style staff, so warm and welcoming and diverse. I will remember this vacation forever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful place in Tikehau

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel is situated on a beautiful pink sand beach. The staff is very welcoming.
Cons: More diversity on the restaurant menu!
Location: Great place to scuba dive! You can tour the lagoon by boat with a most enjoyable stop by the birds’ island or bike through the little town.
There are very few places to stay in Tikehau and the Pearl Beach Resort is certainly one of the most pristine hotels. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel, very small, is kept well maintained. The gardens are beautiful and the pink sand beaches extraordinary. Tikehau is a very small island, very isolated. There is no much to do if you don't scuba dive. The hotel advertises several discovery tours and activities that tend not to take place unless they have a sufficient number of people to participate which seems to be a challenge considering it is a very small resort. It is the perfect place to go to enjoy a very restful and laid-back vacation. The room was comfortable, with a nice view on the lagoon and the ocean. Be aware that you will have cockroaches in your room. They nest in the walls of all the buildings. Nothing they can do! There is only one restaurant at the resort and no other place to eat or go out at the main village on the island. The menu does not change at all. It is the same for lunch and dinner. We felt we were just eating the same thing all the time! This being said the food is well prepared and fresh. Overall, it is a great place to go scuba dive or for a short stay; 3-4 days maximum! After that you get really bored!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John

Great and unique location

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Cons: The Mosquitos and sand flies were a little bothersome.
Fantastic and totally special place. Great overwater villas with some great coral and wonderful fish just below your room. Rays, sharks and all types of reef fish. Good food and a super breakfast. Highly recommended. Kayaking and snorkelling with Manta Rays. Awesome.
3 out of 5
by G from Edmonton, Canada

Beautiful, but Rude Front Desk Staff!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Cons: The front desk staff.
Don't get me wrong, this hotel is in beautiful surroundings, but the front desk staff are incredibly rude. Unless you speak perfect Parisian French, expect to be treated as second class with feigned courtesy, apathy and total indifference. Don't even bother trying to speak French as the front desk staff will grudgingly respond back in English and then perhaps comment on the difficulties in having to speak it to you. Also, we were given a check-out of 11 am, but our hotel escort to the airport wasn't until 2 pm. When we asked for a later check-out, the front desk staff just gave us a smug smiled and said no, someone else would be in our bungalow and we needed to vacate it. However, they left our bags outside the room, unclaimed for 2 hours clearly demonstrating that our bungalow was still free and vacant. Later we learned that a couple who checked in and out the same days as us was given a standard check-out time of 1 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2010
This hotel is great in a great location! Book an over-the-water bungalow - it is really worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Una estancia maravillosa

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Simplemente un hotel maravilloso en un lugar maravilloso también! Unas vacaciones muy placenteras!