Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed it!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We were in the Arenal area to wakeboard for the weekend. This hotel was recommended to us by my son's wakeboard instructor. I was hesitant to book because I saw several bad reviews, but we decided to go for it anyway. We were very pleasantly surprised. Staff great. Rooms were better than expected. Bathrooms new with frameless shower door and updated vanity and sink. We were concerned that there was no AC but with the windows open at night, we were fine. We walked down to the yoga area and found an open air yoga studio next to a beautiful running stream. Can't wait to go back during high season when classes are in session. I am typically picky about lodging. It's almost always a Marriott. Large hotel chains are non-existent in that area so we were ready to "rough it". What a nice little surprise! Very happy we stepped out of our comfort zone!
5 out of 5
by Luis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Bonito

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Fue un lindo hotel, con yoga por la mañana. El único problema es que les falta mucho personal. Sin embargo, la comida es muy buena y los dueños tratan de que estés agusto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing lodge in a beautiful location

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very remote and relaxing location. Small restaurant was lively on weekends and a unique experience I would recommend. For sure this is not your typical hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washungton, DC

Beautiful views from a beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Location, views, staff.
Cons: Nothing - thought it was a great hotel.
Location: Drive to Arenal Reservoir is interesting. Highly recommend the German Bakery's Apfelstrudel. Views of Arenal were limited by clouds, but well worth it
Really enjoyed our stay here - only one night, but a great stay. Staff were delightful, professional and caring. Highly recommend the hike to the ceiba tree ... And take your time, as the views along the way, including of Lake Arenal, local cattle herds and woods to pasture transitions are well worth it. The meals at the hotel were also superb. All in all, a great location and a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saint louis, mo

Peaceful, tranquil stay

Posted Feb 5, 2016
We had a great time at the hotel. The cabin rooms complemented the landscape of the area. The view overlooking the lake from the restaurant was one of a kind. We will definintely come back!
5 out of 5
by Carlos from San José, Costa Rica

Súper relajante

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Estuvo muy bueno, muy relajante! El contacto con la naturaleza, fue súper relajante, mucha paz, silencio
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

wonderful views on top of Lake Arenal

Posted Dec 22, 2015
we loved the view, the rooms, the restaurant, the friendly staff, the walks around the hotel, the walk to the baobab tree. Our stay was too cold to enjoy the beautiful natural pool, unfortunately... great stop half way between Arenal and Monteverde.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Landscaping is beautiful and the included breakfast was excellent, however, the room was small, decorated with ridiculous paintings, had the smallest queen bed I have ever seen (it was really a double) and a shower that ran red with rust for at least ten minutes before we could use it. Overall, a disappointment.
2 out of 5
by Douglas from California

Not worth it

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
A lot of bugs and spiders all over the room. My fiance found a hair of unknown origin on one of the pillows. A group of tiny spiders found their way from one of the beds into her backpack. This was the most expensive hotel in Costa Rica out of the 4 places we stayed, and our least favorite.