Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed it!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We were in the Arenal area to wakeboard for the weekend. This hotel was recommended to us by my son's wakeboard instructor. I was hesitant to book because I saw several bad reviews, but we decided to go for it anyway. We were very pleasantly surprised. Staff great. Rooms were better than expected. Bathrooms new with frameless shower door and updated vanity and sink. We were concerned that there was no AC but with the windows open at night, we were fine. We walked down to the yoga area and found an open air yoga studio next to a beautiful running stream. Can't wait to go back during high season when classes are in session. I am typically picky about lodging. It's almost always a Marriott. Large hotel chains are non-existent in that area so we were ready to "rough it". What a nice little surprise! Very happy we stepped out of our comfort zone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washungton, DC

Beautiful views from a beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Location, views, staff.
Cons: Nothing - thought it was a great hotel.
Location: Drive to Arenal Reservoir is interesting. Highly recommend the German Bakery's Apfelstrudel. Views of Arenal were limited by clouds, but well worth it
Really enjoyed our stay here - only one night, but a great stay. Staff were delightful, professional and caring. Highly recommend the hike to the ceiba tree ... And take your time, as the views along the way, including of Lake Arenal, local cattle herds and woods to pasture transitions are well worth it. The meals at the hotel were also superb. All in all, a great location and a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saint louis, mo

Peaceful, tranquil stay

Posted Feb 5, 2016
We had a great time at the hotel. The cabin rooms complemented the landscape of the area. The view overlooking the lake from the restaurant was one of a kind. We will definintely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

wonderful views on top of Lake Arenal

Posted Dec 22, 2015
we loved the view, the rooms, the restaurant, the friendly staff, the walks around the hotel, the walk to the baobab tree. Our stay was too cold to enjoy the beautiful natural pool, unfortunately... great stop half way between Arenal and Monteverde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well run, breakfast included, clean, comfortable

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Location: Windsurfing, restaurants, <1/2hr to Fresco Viento (park=horseback riding + 4 waterfalls), <1hr to Rio Corobici Safaris (rafting) and Rio Celeste
Quiet, good restaurant, quiet, helpful staff re-activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, CO

Great Little Hotel!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
We had a villa with private porch, little beehive fireplace and yard, perfect place for us! Also enjoyed a yoga class in their very cool studio by the river, awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Vdorf

Quiet hotel with excellent view over Lake Arenal.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Like the location and the neat rooms
Cons: Don't change anything it won't be the same anymore
Location: Walk to Lake Arenal. In the hotel just relax and enjoy the views
Like the hotel for its quietness and good location. Also the food is excellent and and well thought through for its ingredients.The rooms are spacious and clean. There is no TV but you can get internet in the rooms though very slow. Take a short walk to the zoga platform and take time relaxing in the hammocks. Also go a little bit further and see the giantic Ceiba tree. To get there is a little tiresome but well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by kate from alberta

Nice view

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Nice bathroom, clean.
Cons: Wifi in rooms. Breakfast earlier and in yoga days too.
Location: The location is half way to volcano. Not very much near by. Brewery down the road is fun.
Clean, comfortable hotel with nice view located half way to volcano. Breakfast doesn't open until 730, no lunch and super isn't until 7pm. No tv either, but you can relax and enjoy the view. Wifi is very poor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christy from Sunshine Coast, BC

Spectacular hillside setting

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The setting; the ambiance; the people- hosts and other guests
Cons: The bed in our room didn't suit us- too hard!
Location: The hotel is situated in an area of Costa Rica with lots of well advertised activities; our hosts helped us sort out what was best for us.
This is a beautiful property- the setting is unique with spectacular views over the lake and surrounding countryside. Everything is well cared for; the attention given to the gardens and buildings is very apparent. The hosts are a very committed couple who run a smooth operation. They obviously love what they do and really care for their guests as well as their community. The restaurant in the main lodge was perfect; breakfast was provided and we chose to have dinner in the restaurant three nights in a row. The food was so good and it was nice to relax on site rather than seeking out another spot in the neighbourhood. Overall. it was a wonderful oasis in our Costa Rica adventure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The setting and location. We stayed between stops in El Castillo at Mt. Arenal and Tenorio and it was the perfect distance.
Such a lovely, relaxing stop. Sitting on the veranda looking at the lake, the beautiful flowers and foliage,watching a myriad of birds. The staff were gracious and helpful and the food amazing - the mixed salad was stupendous and a full meal when ordered with the tasty grilled chicken. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Don't miss the pool naturale! Thank you Barbara and Francesco.