Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Wonderful restful hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Good location and our room was very comfortable. Plenty of walks to do from the hotel.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Plenty of history with great walks. Beautiful location.
Just returned from our stay at this lovely hotel. Enjoyed it so much we have booked to stay for New Years Eve. Very helpful and friendly staff so I would fully recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tintern, Monmouthshire

Very good hotel with very helpful staff

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Very clean and comfortable. Food and service was excellent
Cons: Access to annex rooms could be greatly improved and we were unaware of all accommodation being outside the main hotel.
Location: Interesting to view Tintern Abbey
Not very good access to annex rooms outside deep concrete steps to accommodation (it was raining)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crymych

Peaceful setting

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: the balcony in my room
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Visiting Tintern Abbey,the river, walks and some good pubs and food.
Staff were very friendly and efficient ,the cleanliness of our room was superb and a very comfortable bed ..Our only downside was that the full breakfast is obviously put on to cook first thing and if you go for about 9a.m you have rock hard bacon and rubberised scrambled eggs, but I then changed to the cold ham and cheese which was beautiful so all in all I would return .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel very pretty outside with lovely gardens

Posted Aug 22, 2016
First impressions pulling into the car park were great Old building and very pretty , you walk into reception , which is a bit dated but the staff are amazing they couldn't be more helpful Our room was a chalet at the back if the old part of the hotels ,when we opened the door to our chalet we were more than pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious with a huge bed lovely furniture and very clean. The bathroom was dated but functional. We dined at the Hotel ,again flowery deco,silk flowers everywhere the same as the lounges , just tired looking and in need of a refurb. Dinner was ok we would try local pub next time.Staff very helpful and friendly Good nights sleep but our chalet had a floor of chalets above us and you can hear people walking around (4am guests above us off to the bathroom ) being a light sleeper this woke me up but didn't bother hubby. The chalet opened up to the beautiful gardens such a lovely way to wake up. Breakfast is help yourself to cereals, yogurt , juice , tinned fruit before the waitress comes along to take your order. I'm a bit of a fiend with coffee preferring fresh rather than instant, if the coffee served to us in a china pot was fresh I apologise now but it wasnt the best I have had and a cafetiere would have been nice Overall a charming hotel bit dated amazing staff Food could be better
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable for an Overnight Stay

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The size and comfort of the room and the balcony which was nice to sit and relax on after traveling. The abbey is within easy walking distance.
Cons: The evening meal was disappointing (and not particularly cheap either in the circumstances of an overcooked lamb shank + a poor quality sirloin steak)
Location: Tintern is a very linear place and this hotel is reasonably central. The abbey is close by as are walking paths and the river of course.
This hotel is slightly deceptive in that its rooms are set out chalet-style as extensions to a more period main building but our double room with a balcony overlooking the gardens (and hills) was very comfortable for our overnight stay. It was clean and spacious. The staff were helpful and there was plenty of off-road parking. The breakfast was hearty!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good location. Relaxed

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: Not realy
Location: Plenty and all well documented at hotel
Food is good but portions are large! A small problem of bathroom door had to be dealt with.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

In lovely quiet location

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Clean good breakfast
Location: Nice location plenty to see nearby
Surprised hotel was shut at 11pm - so wasn't able to have a drink when we came back from our concert
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carmel

Good Base for seeing the area

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Welcome was a little off but Nicky made up for that with her friendliness and helpfullness. As usual though we enjoyed our stay. Have stayed here many times as it is a good spot for meeting up with friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcs

Great hotel, good location

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Excellent breakfast, lovely staff.
Although we arrived early, room was ready.Very friendly lady on reception, happily gave us numbers for taxis to races, unfortunately all too busy. Would reccommend pre-booking as they do have to come from Chepstow. Shame about the rain!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Comfy beds

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Hotel good and friendly staff. Only downside was Breakfast could be better. Oil used was old.