Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Wow the mediteranean sea! love it, away from the crows, one of the staft members was a litte snub, it ignore us when talking to him
5 out of 5
by Piergiuseppe

Great pool

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The highlight is the Olympic size pool. The beach is also nice for sunset. Not impressed by pricy restaurant on the beach. Good breakfast. Nice consierge. Be careful with parking . The free parking is on the street while the one inside garage you have to pay $16 which was not specified by hotel.com website
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

A/C not working

Posted May 28, 2017
Great staff, but A/C would not work if weather is cooler outside. You have to open the window, but you will have a lot of noise. Could not sleep well because of the noise outside due to open window.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good hotel and the staff were really helpful and polite. Swimming pool is huge and well looked after.
3 out of 5
by Francois

Misinformed by Hotels.com

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Initially when I arrived at the hotel, I was seriously disappointed. The hotel and locations was nothing like I expected, not a 4 *. The pool was empty and not operational. However, this was not a mistake on the hotel's side, it was hotels.com! I booked over the phone as I was driving, clearly stipulated to the advisor I need a pool and close to the airport. The site clearly states the pool was seasonal. I reviewed the hotel and as they immediately received the complaint, the next morning at check out, management came to apologise and explained the situation. I was sent home with two lovely bottles of wine. Not their fault, but still, they did more than their part. Hence me reviewing again and passing the blame to hotels.com and not the hotel directly.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Grand Hotel Continental way stop

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were traveling to Rome from Stresa. This was a mid point stay. The Grand Hotel Continental is on the beach of Pisa. It is in classic art deco style built in the 1930s but updated to accommodate modern travelers. It must be beautiful in Summer. We ate at the restaurant and have fine meals. Our 2 day stay was great.
4 out of 5
by Ruslanas

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is located next to the sea, nice view from the balcony. Stuff is nice and helpful, however the hotel itself is old (I got broken chair at the room and at the restaurant). Restaurant food, swimming pool are ok but it has italian old power sockets (with three tiny holes) everywhere so I found hard to plug to the power my laptop with german/euro style plug at my desk (I had to buy italian power adapter). My room was dark (only one small lamp and two halogens next to the bed for reading) so it was hard to work at the desk on evenings. WiFi signal was ok, but connection is limited on speed, torrents are forbidden and video streaming was slow (but skype video call was ok).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

October in this hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant and helpful
Cons: The Pool was closed which was rather disapppoiting
Location: Its very well located with several restaurants and cafes in walking distance.
Room and facilities ok, bar a tad expensive but the same the world over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Not a true 4* Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Gardens were nice, plenty of seating areas and it was nice that it had table tennis and football table, albeit only 1 of each !
Cons: The decor and the swimming pool
Not sure why this hotel is rated as a 4*, because it is very dated & is well overdue and in need for having a makeover in more ays than 1 (decor & furniture are very drab) Although the swimming pool is a great size, the rules that everyone has to wear a swim hat, that you either have to purchase or have with you isn't very inviting to say the least. The staff who managed the pool were not very friendly, a little abrupt to say the least and generally didn't make your time spent around the pool very enjoyable. Too many rules, can't jump in the pool, can't play any games, had swim lanes for people who just wanted to swim lengths, so for any children this wasn't a fun area to be in which in my opinion is what a family goes on holiday for to be able to spend family time together in water - a bit of a kill joy and disappointment. Also be warned that this hotel allows pets to stay, now I love animals but I don't love or appreciate small dogs that continually yap. Luckily we were only staying a couple of days so we just put up with it ! Because we only stayed a couple of days we didn't have time to use the main restaurant so only used the main eating area for breakfast. Food was generally ok, not an overall amount of choice, but would not rate as being 4* quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

excellent location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Well situated, close to Pisa, Livorno, Lucca, Florence and very short distance from the sea.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Very close to the sea, olympic size swimming pool, pleasant reception, bar, garden.