Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Wonderful historical B&B

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Beautiful piece of history to stay in, very friendly and helpful hosts. Enjoyed the guided tour around the castle and the history of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Warm and Welcoming

Posted Nov 10, 2017
My daughter and I stayed overnight in the twin room. The room was very clean and tidy. We had a full cooked breakfast in the Castle ! We will definitely return next time we are in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a lovely location, decor out of date

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Cons: Decor needs updating & it was actually difficult to pay. The owners didn't really know how to use the card machines.
Perfectly serviceable hotel, clean & lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

Fortified manor house with couryard cottages

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable informal country house B & B, in historic setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newbury

One night stay

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Excellent hotel, plenty of character and charm. Old but not tired, hotel has been updated. Staff were great, breakfast was also top quality. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Andy

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Charming location. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Peaceful

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Nice stay, breakfast was delicious. Lots of spiders in the room! Went one day without any hot water, staff were kind enough to move us to another room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Staff ok. And good breakfast
Cons: The rooms
Location: Great location and brilliant pubs 5 minutes away
Just not a comfortable hotel to stay. Could smell cats urine