Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Four star public areas, two star room

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Public areas and pool. Parking
Cons: The room and noisy Chinese tour groups
Location: Good location to visit Tivoli without hassle of in the town
Public areas well presented and in a very nice position overlooking Tivoli. But the room was two star. No safe (broken(; air conditioning on or off (controls broken); electric cable lying under bathroom sink with floor flooding from leaky shower; restaurant huge with bright lighting and poor food (main course tasteless); coach load of Chinese tourists deposited around 10.30 each evening making it Very noisy as soundproofing non-existent. Some tried to recreate music by flushing the toilets in a particular order, others used the corridor as a communal space and shouted at each other even although they were inches apart. Could best be described as a doss house for Chinese tourists. If taken over by a good hotel group and properly run then it would be outstanding but as it is I would not recommend it unless you speak Chinese and want to improve your language skills. Oh and the breakfast is totally forgettable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Beautiful old hotel with a lovely view of Tivoli.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Secluded, quiet, great rooms
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We went to old Tivoli and I would recommend it to anyone. Villa Adriana was interesting. You could spend a few hours there easily.
Very nice rooms, lucked out through Expedia as we (3 couples) had the largest rooms at an awesome price. Too far away from town, so we decided to take a taxi, ( no room for 6) so the driver had to come back for the rest of our group. Gorgeous view of the city day and night and a very nice pool. Great hotel! Friendly staff! 4.9/5 just because nothing is truly perfect!
5 out of 5
by Aaron

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in a great location. Perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restaurant closed

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Everything apart from closed restaurant and no bar.
Cons: Notification that restaurant was liable to be shut then we would have booked a different hotel with open facilities or within easy walking.
Enjoyed an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant the first night but upon returning from a day viewing the local Villas found that the restaurant was closed that evening. As we did not have a car and Tivoli was not walkable at night we had pay 20 euros for taxis. The hotel advertised restaurant and bar but with restaurant closed on night and no bar ( you could sit in the lobby and the receptionist could get you a drink but this is not my understanding of a hotel bar).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Oriana Checchi Manager, Hotel Management
Gentle customers Thank you very much for your appreciation for our Restaurant. For any booking and information our Gentle Staff in the Reception is always available 24 hours per day and for 7 days per week. Our Restaurant observes one closing day for give to the staff one day off per week , it may be closed to other reservations because full booked or it may be closed because we didn't receive any request or booking from our guests. For this reason we already require a reservation to access in the restaurant, as suggested on our website. The Bar is always open because all the Staff can satisfy the requests of each guest.( also at night time ! ) . Thank you very much for your time and review Best Regards Direction
5 out of 5
by valery

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kevin

Underwhelmed

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
It looks like a really grand hotel standing in the hills above Tivoli but doesn't seem to walk the talk. It's a bit soul-less and seems to cater for coach loads of tourists who arrive in the evening and leave first thing in the morning. The bar wasn't open and the restaurant opened twice over the weekend. That was a pity as you needed to drive into Tivoli or walk about a kilometre along roads that lacked sidewalks most of the way. Housekeeping left something to be desired: we found a packet of condoms in the bedside cabinet drawer and there was a damp problem in the first room we were given.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017
Gentle Customers Our Hotel is a Castle completely rebuilt and of charm. It has the luck to be site in a Natural National Park ( Monte Catillo ) and to be close 800 meters to the historical city center of Tivoli ( Villa Gregoriana). So we have the prevelage to be site in a oasis of peaceful tranquility , far away from the caos smog and noise of the city but just at 2 minutes from the city center without finding any traffic. Unfortunately each place can have a momentary problem as I think in each house can happen since things can get suddenly broken . We fixed the problem with the lose of water and we provided you a new and cleaned and upgrated room without any extra . If people don't want to drive in the city a Taxi service is available to bring you there with € 8/10 per trip. The Bar is always open ( all day long and night time ) because lo Staff is all here to satisfy all the clients' requestes. Thanks for your time and review Best Regards Direction
5 out of 5
by michael

castle-like

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
beautiful, castle-like above town; free parking and reasonable; only negative=breakfast was so-so, but
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, IT

Cool setting, poorly soundproofed, abysmal Wifi

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Location, scenery, staff.
Cons: Sound proofing (only interior needs to be improved, exterior is fantastic), Wifi, breakfast, restaurant policy, administration.
Location: Go to all three villas (D'Este, Gregoriana, Adriana). The town of Tivoli itself doesn't offer that much, but each of those villas is fantastic.
The hotel is in a fantastic setting, up above an olive orchard overlooking Tivoli. Its converted-castle structure is very cool but comes with drawbacks. The hotel advertises in-room wifi but even upon check-in they explained that we were unlikely to get signal in our room. We didn't. The marble floors and thin walls make for a noisy stay. The restaurant, which we were looking forward to for dinner, did not open because they did not get any reservations and noon same-day was too late to reserve a table. Also, I pre-paid the room and the manager either ignored or missed that and tried to charge me for the room when I departed. This could be an easy oversight, but it's annoying and inconvenient to explain and prove to the manager that I had already paid. This is a beautiful hotel and if you, as a guest, do not need wifi or phone signal and are willing to overlook the noisiness of the place, then I recommend it. But for the modern traveler just passing through Tivoli, there are likely better hotels that actually live up to a 4* rating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels