Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Jewel of the Yucatan

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Arriving to this hotel itself is like discovering an archeological site, it's rustic charm alone is worth the drive. The staff makes you feel like you belong there, the room itself was magnificent, it felt as though it were my house. As far as I'm concerned best hotel in Mexico.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ricardo Mondragon Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our beloved Hacienda San Jose. We truly appreciate your kind comments and compliments. Your satisfaction is our ultimate desire and reward. We invite you to come back or visit our other 4 Haciendas, please take a minute to learn more at TheHaciendas.com. Best regards, Ricardo Mondragon Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great restaurant

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Great Mexican and Yucatan food Super quiet Lot of beautiful birds and we saw a couple od deers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Everything was great !! Amazing !!!! .... The place, the rooms , the food , people !
4 out of 5
by KH from DC , Denver, Dublin

Beautiful grounds in isolated location

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
The grounds were lovely. The highlight was the pool. No complaints there. It was great. The grounds were nice but while there were aspects of the Starwood "Luxury Collection" experience----the front desk staff in the end were inflexible and non-accomodating. It really was a mix. The food service was mixed. The location was isolated ---about 45-1 hr drive to Merida, but for some travelers, that would be a good thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

peaceful, gorgeous gardens

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
Hacienda is magical. Gardens are beautiful, and we loved staying here. Maybe we stayed too long. 4 nights with 2 young children, and there was really no one else around. Would have been nice to have hotel offer activities (cooking, horse back riding or gardening or something local?). The pool is too cold for young children to really have fun for a long time. Izamal town near by is worth seeing. Staff is wonderful. Overall great time for the family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Panama, Republic of Panama

Very relaxing atmosphere and the pool is well designed

Posted Mar 18, 2011
I would not recommend this hotel for families with small children
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful Hotel and Staff

Posted Mar 1, 2011
The Hacienda San Jose is wonderful hotel. We only stayed for one night but would gladly have stayed for a week. The hotel was not too difficult to find coming from Merida.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Exceptional Value and Service

Posted Jul 1, 2009 on Hotels
Stayed here on honeymoon. Rented a car and explored the Yucatan using the Hacienda as a base. Wonderful property, the casitas maya are excellent, and the food at the restaurant (especially breakfast) is the best of what the region has to offer. The staff are discrete, almost entirely out of site but quickly in the room to clean up once you leave for dinner, etc. Great place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Excellent, Beautiful, Romatic Hacienda

Posted Mar 16, 2009 on Hotels
This place is incredible. We stayed in one of the casitas for the first few days of our honeymoon and it was superb. The rooms are very comfortable, the food at the restaurant is great, the grounds and facilities are beautiful, the staff are out of sight when you want them to be but also close at hand when you need them. They are discrete, pleasant, helpful, and exceptionally professional. The place is very quiet, very private, and I can't think of a negative thing to say. It's an easy drive from the Merida airport (especially if you speak spanish in case you need directions) and it's an easy drive to sights of interest in the Yucatan state. I highly recommend the Hacienda for a relaxing and restful time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Delightful experience

Posted Feb 21, 2008
Hacenda San Jose is in a secluded area about an hour east of Merida and about 7km east of Tixkokob. It is beautifully laid out in the buildings of a former henequen hacienda to which have been added four Mayan "Villas." We stayed n one of the latter which was elegant. Several acres of enclosed gardens surround the main buildings. A large swimming pool has been installed in the hacienda's irrigation tank. Meals are served in an open arcade or in tables set up outdoors adjacent to it. The food is excellent. We had a delightful experience. The only drawback one should note is that it is located in a remote spot, a good drive from the city of Merida and about an hour's drive from the chief archaeological sites (Chichen Itza, Dzibilchaltun or Mayapan). Thus it is a place to stay for several nights while absorbing the region and not a single-night stopover.