Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from diego martin

Gorgeous, romantic but terrible wifi

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Wish I could have stayed longer than 2 days. Beautiful, romantic, right on the water. Buffet breakfast was adequate. Check in staff was terrible but the check out staff was lovely. 4 out of 5 overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Room with a view but poor WiFi

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel was quiet, view was nice and safe was easy to operate.
Cons: Coffee maker in the room.
Location: Nothing is within walking distance except the beach and the pool.
The hotel was nice enough but there were no restaurants or shops nearby and the menu was limited and expensive. VAT and service tax came to 22.5 %. It would have been nice to have coffee on the veranda before the restaurant opened at 7:30 ( only a kettle and some teas were provided). There was virtually no WiFi. Getting around by taxi to the sites and restaurants work but having a car would have been better. The flower petals in the room when we arrived were lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Boutique Style Hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Location: We hired a driver to take us around the island. Glass bottom boat trip at Pigeon Point was fun especially those sand bars way out in the water.
Very difficult to locate in rental car from airport to Bacolet St after dark (our problem, not theirs..driving at night on their roads were a nightmare) Gorgeous views of the water from our balcony room, as well as other locations at the hotel 2 Infinity pools were small, but very nice, with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas available Really enjoyed their private beach!! Setting among the trees, and wonderful surf and sand and tropical breezes were exactly what we were hoping to have for our vacation in Tobago. Staff were were helpful, and available as needed. Food for breakfast was good, and food servers were attentive. Other meals were pricey but also good. Steps...steps.. I counted 100 steps from the beach sand to the door of the lobby Ok as long as you take your time and pace yourself climbing up all those stairs. (however the high elevation provided wonderful views) Our unit was large and comfortable..however minor non-essential repairs were needed in certain areas. Did not like the fact that the bathroom did not have a door, and was open to the bedroom Room decor seemed dated...pictures on web were accurate. Large bathroom had double sink, and shower was large with plenty of hot water. If you rent a car parking is limited. Overall we would HIGHLY recommend the Bacolet Beach Club!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Nice hotel. Secluded. Beautiful view with nice private beach. Few of the in room furnishings are a bit dated but believe it was deliberate to give an overall rustic appearance. Hotel staff was very helpful. Would definately recommend if looking for a romantic getaway on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Nice but BAD BED

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Nice enough looking from the street. Great big hotel room with gorgeous view and great pools, etc. However, the bed is like a torture device. My husband and I can't even begin to imagine how you make a bed that hard. It was actually painful to sleep on and we woke up feeling terrible. Also, the hotel employees seem extremely 'bored' and 'uninterested' in guests. I never once got a smile or a thank you out of anyone in interacted with.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Went there for a peaceful weekend with my girlfriend Check in was quick and they accommodated a late check in. Off to a great start!. Not. Room was clean upon arrival.
Cons: From the time we entered the room , I noticed the size of the AC unit. It was wayyy too small for the size of the room. The rooms are roomy with very high ceilings. The ac was on 16 constantly but could not cold the room due to it's size. I had to sleep without covers because it was just that hot for me. The shower: The temperature of the water is in sync with the water pressure. So to get it "hot", the pressure needs to be on maximum, it was not even hot at best. Maybe luke warm? The shower head was and rusty. Wi-Fi: Should have probably been non existent. When connected (with full bars), my dial up system would have worked better. If pages loaded, you were lucky. Horrible Wi-Fi The fridge was stocked with only two bottles of water and some other drinks. What really upset me was the party/wedding they had at the hotel. I really wish we were informed about this prior to arrival as I would have definitely changed my location. The music from the "Event" was so loud and was a serious disturbance. There was no peace. There was no quiet. There was no relaxation. I felt like I was having a party IN the room. This noise went on maybe up until 12pm. Finally some sleep...In the hot room. Breakfast was a "buffet". Again, it was "ok" at best. The "Restaurant" could use some sprucing up. All in all, it was not what I expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location but service needs work

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the stay was pleasant, I accidentally pressed one guest, instead of two on my reservation and the hotel charged me 30 dollars more a night. The lady at the desk did her best to help me avoid those costs but because I would have had to pay a ridiculous amount in phone charges to talk to someone, I decided to just add the costs. I think there should be a better system for that, and I was very disappointed in the amount I had to pay. Honestly, I would of chosen a different hotel if I knew I had to pay that much extra. Other than that, out room was spacious, clean and beautiful. The only other thing I was disappointed in was the breakfast buffet and the service at the beach bar. The items on the breakfast buffet felt like they were rushed and not prepared well. Although I thought the beach bar area was really unique and had a beautiful view, when we stopped by on Saturday afternoon we waited 15 minutes and no one came to serve us. That was extremely disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superficially nice, not best location

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel superficially nice, but not so great to stay in, would not recommend for more than a couple of nights. Good: Nice reception area, one of the receptionist very friendly, other one not, nice room, access to private beach. Not so good: Building site next to the hotel, directly adjacent to one of the pools, not mentioned at all when booking, and noisy during the day. Balcony and area under bed had not been cleaned for a while. Beach is on the Atlantic side so sea very rough. No local (within walking distance) restaurants in the area that were open in the evening apart from hotel's own, which is expensive. Only one restaurant in town, and car needed. Scarborough not most interesting place, except for the fort) so not ideal location for sightseeing. No lift to the room and no help with carrying luggage. Breakfast average. Wifi very slow and didn't work in the room or restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

could be very good

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
This could be a really good little hotel with some attention to some small basic details It has a great position and the restaurant was actually very good . However we didn't have hot water in the shower and our bed was rock hard . Towels were a bit threadbare and we did experience a definate lack of service , however remember this is Tabago and everything is on Island time so we weren't expecting anything different . Next time we go to Tabago we will probably try one of the other hotels .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The pictures of the hotel were deceiving

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Cons: Advertise what guest are paying for. Do not mislead.....
the pictures of the rooms that i paid for were not the rooms that were given to me upon check-in, after spending 2 hours on the phone with expedia i was then given the rooms that were displayed. the original rooms smelt only of clorox, teh pool was murky green and the out door furniture was covered with mildew......