Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

OK resort with nice (but small) beach.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Has a protected lagoon which is calm and has a sandy beach. VERY easy to get a lounger on the beach in mid-February 2017. Grounds are quite nice.
Cons: Rooms need an upgrade. Dinner at the resort restaurant was not good (but the buffet breakfast was quite good). Staff tries, but need more training.
Location: Walking distance to airport (!) as well as to convenience stores and several restaurants. Can snorkel right off the beach around the rock enclosure.
Not a lot to do in Tobago but is good if you want a relaxing beach holiday. Food and alcohol at restaurants and stores were more expensive than we thought they would be (many are the same or even higher price compared to Canada!). Go to the Penny Saver grocery store (short taxi ride) to save some money if you want to stock up rather than eating/drinking in restaurants or at the Coco Reef resort all the time. Food/drink at Coco Reef resort is especially expensive but the buffet breakfast was included in our package. Not a lot of all-inclusives (if any?) in Tobago. All-inclusives elsewhere are better value - we have been to a dozen or so over the years. Coco Reef resort is not large, and is apparently one of the best resorts in Tobago which tells you the island has much more work to do to become a more tourist friendly destination. The airport being so close is surprisingly not noisy at all. Coco Reef resort was able to give us an early check-in and a late check-out which was REALLY helpful to us, since we arrived very early in the morning and left late at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our beach and resort facilities. Coco Reef offers several meal plan options and information is available at our main reception and in the restaurants. These options are designed to save money and we would encourage you to consider them if you return to our resort. Glad that you enjoyed additional services such as early check in and late checkout as our gesture to facilitate your flights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The location and beach. Friendly staff
Cons: Rooms could be modernised. Air conditioning very efficient but location over bed means that you have to sleep in a strong wind.
Location: Great location but outside is mostly fast food and so best to eat in hotel.
Perfect for swimming in sheltered lagoon. Great views and setting. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your discomfort with our AC unit. The louvres can be set at various directions for your comfort and it would have been our pleasure to assist you during your visit. It is great that you enjoyed our property and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Better options elsewhere for the price!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The private beach and beach chairs
Cons: Everything bout the bedroom...update it!
Location: Great food and places to see.
Overall, the facilities and condition of the bedrooms are out dated and could of been cleaner. The beds were uncomfortable as well as the type of sheets they used. Again, age of the linens and towels are clearly seen. The buffet breakfast was nicely layout but lacked taste...again especially for the price you paid. The Hotel grounds and private beach area is what you may see value in. Location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will follow up on your comments regarding your stay and key points where we can improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nj, USA

Beautiful hotel, beautiful staff

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: There was nothing I didn't like.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location of this hotel is directly on a beautiful beach. There are plenty of things do nearby. Local cuisine and shopping are in walking distance
We loved every minute of our stay. We had an amazing view of the ocean and the hotel is right on the beach. The restaurants were wonderful and the staff were like dear friends. Our excursions were top notch with the most enjoyable tour guide .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to accommodate you again one day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but the hotel is tired & dated

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Breakfast was quite good, but that's about it, wifi was $10 USD per day and only available in the lobby and bar area. Too many rules it was like a Blackpool B & B. One local Trinidad gentleman arrived early and offered to pay extra to get a room but was told no ? This surprised me as the hotel occupancy was less than 50%. Overall, if you can accept it for what it is and sit on the beach all day it's ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

A beautiful tobago getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Overall the facilities are beautiful and scenic. the private beach is a huge plus and ideal for quiet couple time or for a family with children. Lovely and clean swimming pool. Numerous areas to lounge around and enjoy the seascape. Breakfast was fantastic with great variety. The beds are comfortable and the ocean views are lovely. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Staff were very helpful, friendly and available when needed and its always nice to be greeted with a cocktail. The close proximity to dining areas and shops cant be beat. Its the perfect place for a weekend getaway especially for people who love the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from TRINIDAD

GOOD ACCESS TO BEACH FOR CHILDREN

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: VERY CHILD FRIENDLY BEACH
Cons: THE FOOD OPTIONS ARE VERY LIMITED
Location: STORE BAY BEACH. ACCESS TO REEF BOATS AT STORE BAY, LOCAL SOUVENIR SHOPPING. FAIRLY CLOSE TO AIRPORT.
THE OCEAN LAGOON IS PERFECT FOR CHILDREN HOWEVER THE HOTEL ROOMS NEED TO UPDATE AND THERE SHOULD BE MORE FOOD OPTIONS. THE POOL ALSO NEEDS BETTER MAINTENANCE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you felt our beach was safe and calm for your family. Our pool is serviced twice daily, we shall revisit this to ensure the highest quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed Patron

Posted Oct 12, 2016
This was my 4th time staying at Cocoreef, and I must say that the level of service and attention to detail and caring was sub par. I booked an Ocean View room thru Expedia, and was put in a garden view room, I asked to be moved and was moved to another room on the complete opposite side of the hotel, with an injured foot by the way, which I informed them of. This room had an Ocean view, however as I left the room for dinner the first evening, a HUGE cockroach crawled over my foot and into the room, we killed it then continued out and there was his big buddy roach right outside the door. We killed that one as well. After numerous calls to the front desk, they sent someone over at 10:30pm with roach spray. I also had to call about the air conditioning no working. Breakfast is served between 7am and 10am. I arrived at 9:30, and there was nothing left, and whatever was left did not even look appetizing. I then opened the container which had ham INFESTED with ants. I informed the staff and they just came looked, and did nothing, said nothing to us....just no care. Another extremely disappointing moment, was that the Managers had a cocktail hour, and not one of them said hello...welcomed us...or even came around to ask how the guests stay was...just NOTHING, they just stood in a line by the staircase. Beautiful place, however they really need to come together and engage with guests, pay attention to the detail, and provide the staff with some customer service training.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your negative experience and the decline in service standard you had experienced. We shall endeavor to improve and return our standards to the level that kept you returning on previous occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
It was relaxing and pleasant. I really enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the on site snorkeling was fantastic. My only wish was that the service was a little more friendly. A few of the staff were very kind but many made me feel like I was a bother. But, overall I enjoyed myself and plan to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be forwarded to our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern Ontario, Canada

very nice hotel, on the beach. Great views.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: location on the beach
Cons: ask the tour boat not to come so close to the shore - way too loud when passes by
Location: not sure what is to do nearby - we wanted to spend the weekend on the beach did see people come in from snorkeling/diving
beautiful, love Tobago! Hotel is older, but extremely well kept. Right on the beach, also has outdoor pool restaurant in hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our property and the island of Tobago. Hope to see you again one day