Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx New York

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Room was very comfortable. Staff very accommodating. Food was excellent. Beach is a hop skip and a jump. I am already planning my stay for next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Fantastic stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Was a very spontaneous trip but I was really pleased. friendly staff as well. place is peaceful and calm and relaxing. restaurant food wasnt bad. A little expensive but reasonable enough. Pools were clean and looked very well maintained Beach was just a flight of stairs away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Beautiful Island style hotel..

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The beautiful Island experience..
Cons: nothing
Location: If you're into nature. Hiking etc. be sure to check out the Argyle waterfalls. The fun was the climb / hike to one of the 17 pools.
After reading the reviews, I was very skeptical to stay here. It was my birthday and honeymoon so I really wanted the perfect place to relax, have fun and enjoy. I decided to take the chance and see what happens and I am extremely happy that I did. This place is beautiful and the cool island breeze and sea view is amazing. Believe me, based on the reviews, I tried to find something about Half Moon Blue, but honestly could not. From the wonderful receptionist Cathy, that had a fruit tray and wine in the room for us at check in, the very helpful staff at Café Havana and the complimentary island style breakfast, to the trek down to the very secluded beach…The trek to the beach could be a little tricky. A lot of stairs because of all the natural hills on the island, but once you get there, a swim with curious fishes makes it worthwhile. My husband loved it and he definitely wants to go back. Be sure to check out some of the island attractions, including Argyle waterfalls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Hotel needs updating

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Generally would have been a nice hotel, but the rooms are very outdated now, displaying some wear and tear. Mosquitos enter easily, and the Wifi is virtually non functional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Intimitet og afslapning

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Vi havde et skønt ophold, med ro til afslapning og hinanden. Det var dejligt med et pusterum fra hverdagen, og vi nød at dase ved pool samt strand.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel with access to private beach

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Access to the private beach via the Bacolet Beach Club.
Cons: A little more attention to cleaning around the pool and rooms would help.
Location: It's on the Atlantic side of the island which is a little wilder than the Caribbean sea, but we really liked being away from the main tourist areas.
We stayed in the old part of the hotel, which is a good standard and has bit of character and charm, although it's a little shabby and tired in places. We didn't use the pool at the Half Moon Blue, but used the other pools over the road at the Bacolet Beach Club, which we almost had to ourselves. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at the Havana cafe, where you go to eat breakfast is very good - fresh fruits, cereal, cooked breakfast and pancakes on one day. They accommodated our request for a pre-packed breakfast for our early flight. The AC in our room was working, but the fan didn't work. Generally a pleasant and relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful Colonial Style Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: I visit the Caribbean often and this hotel is always my first choice when in Tobago especially as the WiFi problems have now been resolved!
Cons: Carafes of wine on the D'Rum bar/cafe menu were not available and we had to choose wine from the more expensive Havana restaurant drinks menu.
Location: Location is a short walk to the local beach and about 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes taxi ride into the capital, Scarborough.
Hotel is built on a hillside and has rooms in two wooden colonial style blocks at a high level either side of a small infinity pool. Reception and a bar/restaurant are at a lower level and you have access to the private beach, poo,l beach bar and restaurant of the sister hotel opposite. Rooms are light and spacious and have an 'old worlde'l feel. Hotels location is quiet but you are only a short walk to the Bacolet Bay beach and the local town, Scarborough. Rooms are well kept and staff are pleasant and helpful. The shared Havana restaurant provides a fair breakfast but the evening meals are unremarkable and overpriced, however the new on site D'Rum bar/cafe offers a tasty 'no frills' menu and better service. Previous problems with the WiFi in the rooms have been resolved and I enjoyed a good and unbroken connection during my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Could do better!

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: In respect of the facilities, the pools are ok, one at the actual hotel is tired, with quite a few missing tiles. The one across the road is ok.
Cons: Rooms are basic, which is fine but cleanliness of bathroom fixtures etc not good, covered in limescale
Location: Unfortunately not wanting to eat there so much meant extending the car hire for the full two weeks as you are quite far away from anything.
Things started really well with the booking, it was our honeymoon so we contacted Rachel before arriving to arrange champagne etc, she is dealt with this professionally. Again it was Rachel who met us on arrival, she is a credit to the establishment. The cleaners were great too! However the breakfast staff were really quite miserable, it doesn't matter if you go early or late to breakfast, nothing gets refilled unless you ask - it is hit and miss whether they offer you toast and juice and it isn't because they are busy. Many people choose not to go there because the quality and lack of choice at breakfast is an issue. Whilst talking about bar staff, most do the bear minimum - there was one lovely lady, the others just don't engage. Probably because the owner Gloria a model is the same, she took breakfast in the restaurant and had fans bought over just for her, doesn't smile at her guests or engage - quite sad really. Unfortunately not wanting to eat there so much meant extending the car hire for the full two weeks as you are quite far away from anything. Although if you do stay Salsa Kitchen is excellent and is a ten minute taxi ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: View
Cons: Rooms and plantation as to sister property.
Location: Beach at hotel means one foes not need to go too far. Scarborough is a short ride away though not much to do there other than a coffee shop.
Booked at half Moon Blue because the receptionist insisted they could not check me to Bacolet Beach Club due there being no room with a working lock although availability showed online. I don't think this was the case, I ended up being given a room at Bacolet Beach Club very late in the night on Monday 29 February after quite a long wait and run around. Half moon Blue is okay - nice view but the rooms are a bit old inside. They are not exactly modern chic but a bit dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Half Moon Blue Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The old charm, the view and the vegetation around it.
Cons: The bathroom should be renovated and cleaner.
Location: You need a car or taxi to go anywhere, except Scarborough, and we didn't find much there, except very good rotti.
The hotel is very close to the beach and right next to one of the pools. (Guests can also use the two pools of the hotel across the street.) The three rooms in the top floor and the pool have a spectacular ocean view. The staff is friendly. The hotel could use a little renovation.