Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Soumya from Stuttgart, Germany

beautiful 4 night stay in Le Grand Courlan

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
front desk collagues are really helpfull. They have asissted us with car rental, boat ticket etc.Breakfast could have more choices in my opinion. Example more types of bread. Local cuisne was good. Massage is pretty expensive though (ex. 50 US$ for 30mins foot massage).
4 out of 5
by ELUISA from Florianopolis

Um Bom Custo Benefício

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
A estadia no geral foi muito boa. O hotel tem uma excelente localização, um tamanho de quarto bem confortável, uma bela sacada com vista para o mar. O mar é ótimo para banho.Falta estrutura de praia que o hotel não oferece (cadeiras confortáveis para ficar na praia). Não usufruímos do café da manhã, por isso não posso opinar. A maioria dos recepcionistas é nota 10, mas há exceções que estão aquém do padrão de atendimento. O hotel não é direto na praia. Tem uma faixa que separa do mar. Isso não fica muito claro na descrição, por isso ressalto. Também acho bom estar com carro alugado para fazer passeios e conhecer melhor a ilha.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Le Grand not so Grand

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Firstly, the room we were assigned to the AC was not working and the hotel was aware of the same as the handyman came to check the same without us letting them know(as we thought maybe it was just put on and needed a chance to cool) meaning that they would have been aware of it prior to us checking in. This I found was in poor taste, why send a guest to a room with a malfunctioning ac where the handymen would have to be in and out fixing?. We were eventually moved to another room, we thought great, ac is working, then bam, no water in the room. The lady who attended to us at the front desk at this time was quite helpful I am sorry I did not get her name. We advised that we could not wait around we were heading out to explore and we returned to a functional room.
4 out of 5
by Geniell Lezama from Trinidad

Wonderful Weekend

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at the hotel with my husband and had an absolutely wonderful time. I firstly must say after I read some of the reviews I was hesitant in staying at the hotel. however my stay was great. the hotel was clean and the receptionist was very welcoming. my room and bathroom was clean no molds... the pool was warm and also clean. I must say that maybe the hotel is under knew management or they pay attention to the reviews made by their guest. All in all I will definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good resort, but very dated facilities

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The location can't be beat. Walking distance to the beach, multiple restaurants, a convenience store, and just a short drive to most big tourist spots
Cons: The rooms and fixtures could use an update.
Location: I spent most of my time at the pool or beach. It was absolutely perfect.
This is a gorgeous resort, right on the beach, with a lovely pool and a lot of great amenities: bars, restaurants, beautiful views, etc. I had an amazing vacation there. That said, Tobago is a country with a very different culture from the hospitality-oriented manner of upscale hotels in the US or Europe. The staff were all very nice, but everything is simply very slow, time-consuming, and no one is especially concerned when something doesn't go right. For example, our rooms weren't ready until several hours after the scheduled check in time. The hotel mixed up my reservation, and their advice was for me to book a new reservation and then contest the charges with Expedia when I got home (which I did, and Expedia refunded the excess money immediately). The internet went out for part of our stay, and no one seemed terribly in a hurry to try to fix it. And just in general, you get the sense that while everyone cares about being kind and gracious, they don't want to expend a lot of energy. The room was clean, with decent amenities. Only about 6 TV channels, and fairly outdated fixtures (my towel bar fell off the wall on my first day, and the maids just cleaned around it). But from talking with people who have spent a lot of time there, that's just par for the course. Overall, I had a great experience.
1 out of 5
by Travis from New York

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
To begin there's no clear sign to tell this is the resort. Honestly anyone can walk into the resort and no one will notice. There's probably a total of 3 people working at this resort. There's no elevators and there's a distance walk and a lot of stairs to get to the room. Our room sheets were dirty, our a/c didn't swing and the shower leaked. Our view was gorgeous. The breakfast was the same thing everyday and we stayed 4 days. The restaurants for lunch and dinner was never open. And there was never anyone working at the bars. Only if the pool had people in it would the bartender come. This is definitely not what I expected for a resort in Tobago. This is basically like a motel. Def not worth the money I spent to stay here
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Too much went happened for a 24 hour stay.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
1. Waited 30 mins in checkin because machine for security card didn't work even though the had my particulars and was expecting me. 2. TV didn't work. Remote control/battery had to be replaced. Back and forth before fixed. Reception in room poor. 3. No wifi in room. You are not informed of that before. 4. Sat at breakfast table in Bistro for 30 mins because of changed location due to a party the night before. Took long to replenish food due to inadequacy of changed location. Also short staff- 2 persons didn't show up for work that Monday morning. 5. Didn't appreciate front desk's initial attitude when I asked for a delayed check out of 30 mins after giving an hour's notice. The earliest notice I could give based on the notice from the taxi driver. 6. Request for a copy of my bill was denied because according to them I came through Expedia. 7. The staff must realise that when persons pay US money to stay at a hotel, continuous apologies really don't cut it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Not much!
Location: Beach is terrific. A nearby historic fort is very interesting, and there is a very nice restaurant (Seahorse) within walking distance. An easy driving
I felt like I was going back in time....an old fashioned resort with modern amenities, but not so fancy that I felt uncomfortable. The staff couldn't have been nicer, and the pool and gym were terrific! The rooms were just fine, and having breakfast each morning on the outside porch was heavenly. It was quiet when we were there, so not everything was open, but that made it even better...the peacefulness was wonderful! The location on the beach was THE BEST!! We're hoping to go back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel and staff...perfect view of the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean view and better looking than other hotels

Posted Feb 23, 2016
The hotel was a pleasant place to stay in and had a very nice swimming pool and the staff were friendly. As it was off season the restaurant was not open which was disappointing as we were directed to go and eat at the Grafton hotel. The food at the grafton was not very good. The breakfast service was decent but the menu advertised flying fish, but this was not availalble on any day (dont advertise what you cant provide). The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The hotel felt secure and they had security. When in season i can see this hotel being much better to stay in.