Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

a little walk to the beach

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: the staff was always helpful
Location: the beach
nice pool , good location , will returned soon rented a car to drive around tobago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted May 30, 2017
Great service and loved the beach bar/restaurant. Room was clean and pool area beautiful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa

Warning all lies

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing this hotel is all lies
Cons: They need to tell the truth
Location: The location was fine only thing nice about the place
I checked in on the 25th of may to a room that I was told would have a shower/tub.... yeah no tub. They spa they talk about on the site it's never open you can call and try and set an appointment and no one ever called me back. They don't have a swim up bar either the gym is full of locals that have memberships so you have to weight to get on the machines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Comfortable

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This hotel's location is close to the beach and has a beautiful view. The rooms are comfortable. Staff are very helpful and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs improvement

Posted Mar 22, 2017
While the pool is really nice, the rooms are not in good condition, bathrooms smelled weird and sheets had staines. Our room was flooded when first got there and had to be redirected to another. Some of the staff would do just what they need to get by, when I asked for ice one person told me there was none and when I asked someone else they directed me to the right place. Some staff just don't want to help and totally ignore you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel has great Amenities- pool swim up bar beach in walking distance. our stay included breakfast....awesome fish, bake, eggs made to order and fresh fruit and more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Decent hotel with pool and beach front.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The view and the pool.
Cons: The bathroom needs upgrading, the tv's should be replaced with better models and Internet service in the rooms should be standard.
Location: The location is remote and quiet (away from most things). This may be the selling point.
The hotel is an older facility (used to the Grafton Beach Resort). The pool area is fine with a swim up bar but the beach is rocky and unkempt. Internet service is best only in the lobby and pool area. The hotel is fine if all you want are decent facilities but it can use some maintenance.
4 out of 5
by Aaron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Relaxing Place to stay

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: In room safe, lovely pool and grounds, close to the beach we heard it while sleeping, security was present and the room was quiet
Cons: A hotel guide which showed the layout and location of items updated depending on traffic and season, wider range of TV channels
Location: Not too many things to walk to Fort Bennet was a great view with cooling breezes, Adventure Hummingbird Farm was close by and worth the stop
I believe it may have been off season in Tobago. The weather was great despite getting a rain shower in a week where the forecast had been for 10-20% chance of rain before we left. The hotel is across a tiny road from the beach which was empty while we were there. The physical plant is being maintained (they were painting the outside and refurbishing rooms). The grounds were very well kept and someone raked the beach daily to rid it of leaf and debris. We got the option of breakfast which was very nice pick whatever they offered plus standing items on the buffet table. The food in the restaurant was tasty and served at the correct temperature. Do not try to eat dinner too soon open after 7pm. The water was super hot in the shower and the pool matches the photos on the website. Most people seemed to use taxis and tourist buses to tour the island while we had a car. The driving can be challenging with small roads, some potholes, but not as many as in Trinidad and roads way curvier than the road to Hona. The highlight was the managers reception on Thursday night where the rum punch was free and the live music was jamming the 3 female singers showed super high energy and kept the music going until the end of the reception. Local vendors selling crafts were there and we bought a few things. Relaxing under the roof above the swim up bar beside the main pool you had views of the water and cooling breezes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Beware of Fleas! Room looks nice but Fleas in 220

Posted Jan 22, 2017
My husband and I had a reservation to stay at the Le Grand in Tobago on January 12th 2017. It was our first time in Tobago, and first time at Le Grand Spa; unfortunately the worst night experienced of all our travels. When we got there the lady at the front desk had issues locating and finalizing our reservation to check us in. The lady at the front desk insisted that Expedia had info that wifi access was not in the rooms. I went on Expedia and confirmed no such thing was written at the time. No wifi in the room was a draw back. After the back and forth we almost missed our dinner reservation. We left the LeGrand after waiting almost an hour to check in. While at dinner, my husband decided we stay at the LeGrand due to the time getting late and it being our first time in Tobago; it wasn't wise driving around at night. When we returned from dinner we got checked in. Room 220 was the room we were checked into. I was tired and felt relieved to finally be able to lay down. When we got into the room, I drew the curtains while my husband went into the restroom. He came out and I went in. I sat on the toilet and I felt something bite me. When I looked at my legs (I was wearing dress) my legs were covered with Fleas. At first I did not know what it was, they were jumping on the floor and back on my legs.I screamed for my husband and he confirmed the fleas. No one was at the front desk and a guy on the phone said they would be with us. No show, we slept in our car :( No refund