Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

a little walk to the beach

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: the staff was always helpful
Location: the beach
nice pool , good location , will returned soon rented a car to drive around tobago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted May 30, 2017
Great service and loved the beach bar/restaurant. Room was clean and pool area beautiful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa

Warning all lies

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing this hotel is all lies
Cons: They need to tell the truth
Location: The location was fine only thing nice about the place
I checked in on the 25th of may to a room that I was told would have a shower/tub.... yeah no tub. They spa they talk about on the site it's never open you can call and try and set an appointment and no one ever called me back. They don't have a swim up bar either the gym is full of locals that have memberships so you have to weight to get on the machines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Comfortable

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This hotel's location is close to the beach and has a beautiful view. The rooms are comfortable. Staff are very helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Gerard

Birthday weekend escape

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at this hotel or a weekend getaway with my family for my son birthday. The hotel was clean quiet and the views of stone haven bay beach from our room and the compound were exquisite. The breakfast was great with variety and the staff were friendly there were two kiddie pools as well as the main and pool side service to help you further cool down. This is an ideal hotel if you want to relax and unwind I would definately recommend and would be returning again thank you le grand for the beautiful and tasty cake for our son he was most happy and a great way to end his birthday weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs improvement

Posted Mar 22, 2017
While the pool is really nice, the rooms are not in good condition, bathrooms smelled weird and sheets had staines. Our room was flooded when first got there and had to be redirected to another. Some of the staff would do just what they need to get by, when I asked for ice one person told me there was none and when I asked someone else they directed me to the right place. Some staff just don't want to help and totally ignore you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel has great Amenities- pool swim up bar beach in walking distance. our stay included breakfast....awesome fish, bake, eggs made to order and fresh fruit and more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Decent hotel with pool and beach front.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The view and the pool.
Cons: The bathroom needs upgrading, the tv's should be replaced with better models and Internet service in the rooms should be standard.
Location: The location is remote and quiet (away from most things). This may be the selling point.
The hotel is an older facility (used to the Grafton Beach Resort). The pool area is fine with a swim up bar but the beach is rocky and unkempt. Internet service is best only in the lobby and pool area. The hotel is fine if all you want are decent facilities but it can use some maintenance.
4 out of 5
by Aaron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Relaxing Place to stay

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: In room safe, lovely pool and grounds, close to the beach we heard it while sleeping, security was present and the room was quiet
Cons: A hotel guide which showed the layout and location of items updated depending on traffic and season, wider range of TV channels
Location: Not too many things to walk to Fort Bennet was a great view with cooling breezes, Adventure Hummingbird Farm was close by and worth the stop
I believe it may have been off season in Tobago. The weather was great despite getting a rain shower in a week where the forecast had been for 10-20% chance of rain before we left. The hotel is across a tiny road from the beach which was empty while we were there. The physical plant is being maintained (they were painting the outside and refurbishing rooms). The grounds were very well kept and someone raked the beach daily to rid it of leaf and debris. We got the option of breakfast which was very nice pick whatever they offered plus standing items on the buffet table. The food in the restaurant was tasty and served at the correct temperature. Do not try to eat dinner too soon open after 7pm. The water was super hot in the shower and the pool matches the photos on the website. Most people seemed to use taxis and tourist buses to tour the island while we had a car. The driving can be challenging with small roads, some potholes, but not as many as in Trinidad and roads way curvier than the road to Hona. The highlight was the managers reception on Thursday night where the rum punch was free and the live music was jamming the 3 female singers showed super high energy and kept the music going until the end of the reception. Local vendors selling crafts were there and we bought a few things. Relaxing under the roof above the swim up bar beside the main pool you had views of the water and cooling breezes.