Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Charming hotel..but be ready for some noise

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: The decor and artwork, friendly and helpful staff, and convenient location
Cons: Have better sound proofing in the rooms. The windows only have a screen and shutters and no panes of glass to block street noise.
Location: The hotel is very conveniently located. Close to many restaurants and boutiques. The center of Todos Santos
The hotel is very conveniently located at the center of town. It is easy to walk to various restaurants and and boutiques in the area. The hotel is extremely charming, with colourful and eclectic decor and vibrant artwork. The pool was great, as we spent many hours each day there. Although small, the pool area provided a great place to relax. As we had our newborn son with us, we weren't always out in the town. The hotel had enough quiet areas for us to relax and read while our son slept in his stroller. I also have to thank the wonderful front desk staff - both Luis and Hugo were extremely helpful. Hugo also helping me deal with issues with the car rental company, so thank you to them both. However, the only complaint was the lack of soundproofing on the windows. Street noise easily comes through, especially during the time we visited, which coincided with 4 days of Day of the Dead festivities. Additionally, there was plumbing work going on behind our room, which was audible, until 12:30 am. Luckily, my wife used her phone app for some white noise. Normally it wouldn't be an issue, but we had our son with us, and we didn't want his sleep disturbed. But the owner, Debbie, was very gracious and apologetic when we told her the issues the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The pool definitely needs to be remodeled, the tile was falling off and missing in many places.
Location: Restaurants, shopping
First time staying at Hotel California. The location is great, central to town and a close drive to beaches. The service was good, the staff is very helpful & friendly. The room was comfortable but could use updating, The pool desperately needs to be retiled and cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Stay Away

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Disgraceful thieves.
Cons: Complete overahaul of management and practices. Theives.
Location: Stay someplace else. The location is fine, but the hotel is run down, and the management is akin to the mafia.
After a long flight and drive, we arrived to hotel, booked months in advance. Shown to our room, directly over a generator. Asked to be moved, and were shown to a second room. Here, the manager told us that the room had no running water. In fact, the entire hotel was without running water. We asked if he could book us into either the Todos Santos Inn, or Guaycara - both similiarly priced and nearby. He said he would, and made the call for us. Not a Spanish speaker, I didn't know what he said, but he handed me directions, and off we went. Turns out, he booked us at Hotel Casa Tota and agreed to pay for our 3 night stay. Well, lucky Hotel California got a total money earner on us. The one night price that I paid for Hotel CA was twice what the nightly rate was at Hotel Casa Tota. Requested to be reimbursed, and both Expedia and Hotel California denied the request. I didn't want the money back for the other hotel, we stayed there, but shame on Hotel CA for ripping me off. They made a hundred and twenty bucks nightly on me for 3 nights and for that, SHAME SHAME SHAME
3 out of 5
by Adrien

Mythical but overpriced

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Mythical place, but very noisy street, and an overall low customer-perceived value. Do recommend to have a drink, but the night isn't worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Beautiful hotel in Todo Santos

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We loved staying here. Gorgeous art and furniture all around. Magical setting! In town there are many jewelry and crafts shops. There's a small wine bodega in town that was very fun with a great small Mexican restaurant next-door with the best chili rellenos ever! There's an old Spanish mission. Great restaurants within walking distance. The food at the hotel was also impressive. Loved the nachos. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bucket list checked off. This is a great hotel.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
This was our first stay at the Hotel California, yet it was our 10th time to visit Todos Santos. The town has had major construction and road improvements. The room was very quiet and clean. A few minor paint issues were noted in the bathroom, but we enjoyed our visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
right in the center of town with good restaurants and shopping
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stateline NV

The Real Hotel California

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staid just one night while traveling but will be back.
5 out of 5
by Annamarie from Southampton pa

Hotel California - Todos Santos MX

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night , as an extra day for our stay in Caboolture area . Todos Santos is a cute little town , not much to do except relax, eat and shop . Hotel California is a neat boutique hotel ,worth the stay. Be advised there is no elevator