Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Megan from Edina

Quite impressed

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
I work in a hotel, so I know how a hotel should look, and Americinn Tofte is doing well. Granted, they might have things a little easier with being located in a small town that probably only sees more traffic during tourist season, the hotel was VERY clean and presentable from the lobby to the rooms. I was very excited to see a jacuzzi in our room aside from the standard shower. The jacuzzi made for a nice winding down at the end of a fun wedding reception. The beds were comfortable, the wifi worked well, the breakfast had great selections, and IF I were ever that far north again, I would gladly stay with this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Fabulous hotel near Lutsen!

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Fabulous hotel! Free breakfast, clean rooms, nice pool and the staff was very friendly and helpful! I have 2 kids and the rooms were quiet and there were nearby restaurants that deliver! Only 9 minutes from Lutsen mountain too!
5 out of 5
by James from Edina, MN

Stay @ Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
It couldn't have been better
4 out of 5
by marc from andover

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to Lutsen Mountains!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Size and comfort of the room, breakfast and pool.
Location: Lutsen Mountains for skiing
We stayed here with a few friends and stayed in a family suite to go skiing at Lutsen! The room was comfortable and breakfast was decent. For the price and location it was perfect! My only complaint was that the hot tub seemed "overchlorinated" or something because when we turned on the jets it burned our eyes. BUT it could fit up to 12 people which was awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very comfortable, great décor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls area

Poor staff/food

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: New furniture. Location
Cons: Customer service personnel trained, start over with your breakfast-this was terrible.When so few guests don't place them in side by side rooms
Location: Location is at the center, geographically, of the north shore experience.
Poor morning staffing:.unfriendly, unclean, NOT the person I'd want representing my service business! No breakfast prepared 'too few guests' was the excuse. Food made at our specific request was absolutely horrible - biscuits old, dried up and hard. Gravy consistency of paste. No sweet rolls. Eggs prepared were a round dot of something yellow - no resemblance to eggs. Very greasy sausage. Have stayed here before, and while not luxurious, was OK. Other than new furniture, the experience was lousy.
5 out of 5
by Art

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Del from Winton , mn

Oct. stay

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW. Mn

nice, clean hotel.

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Location: Tofte is kind of in the middle between Duluth and Grand Portage so was very convienient. Restaurants are mostly spendy and no fast food.
Staff was helpful and friendly. Although I wish I would have know that there is 2 floors and no elevator, I had hard time getting up the stairs with osterarthritis. Told them I had a brace and couldn't walk far but not handicap rooms left. They did move us to closer room on the 2nd floor.