Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location on the lake

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location on the lake.
Cons: Older facility will need some major restoration at some point to compete with newer facilities along the north shore.
Motel is older and rooms were OK. Best part of this facility is the location. Sunrise and the waves crashing below made it memorable. For a continental type breakfast this was above average!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benson, MN

Great view.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Could used a pool and hot tub.
Good nights sleep and each room has balcony with a great view of Lake Superior.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice and quiet

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: location, location, location. and the balconies.
although it's a little far from restaurants, this was a great place to stay. Whether sitting on the balcony watching the lake and the throngs of dragonflies, or doing the same lying in bed, it was very serene.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Clean and functional, right on the lake.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great staff, especially Buddy the 16 year old dog who was first to greet us. Old but clean, no frills yet just what we needed for an overnight stay on the lake. No AC but didn't need it with the lake right out your window. Nice little continental breakfast in the morning was great before our hike at Temperance. Recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Location and views are great from this hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but could use some updating. The outstanding issue for me was the shower where the water did not stay at temperature, but alternately went too hot and too cold. The towels were mismatched as part of needed updating. Nice breakfast provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views, thoughtful staff

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We stayed over on a drive down to Minneapolis from Canada and after viewing the beautiful sunrise from the outside balcony, immediately wished we were spending more time here instead. Hotel staff was very thoughtful and made omelette to order for us without us asking when she realized we're vegetarian. We would definitely go back. Nice homely feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Reasonable rate.
Cons: Needs a lot of TLC
Location: Great location near Tofte & Temperance River St Park.
Adequate for a night or two. Smallish room with one sliding glass door to a small balcony.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Don't know
Location: Lutsen, Tettegouche, Temperance, Grand Marais, Palisade Head, Castle Danger brewing, Split Rock, Old Rustic Inn
3rd time we've stayed here. Never disappoints. Location is ideal and all rooms have balconies on the water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale az

Views and waves

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Balcony over looks the and the sound of the waves lapping up and over the rocky base lulls you to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Excellent breakfast with an unmatched view of Lake Superior from the breakfast room ... Attentive staff who helped us with our luggage ... A wonderful stay!!!