Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Conveniently Located Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: It’s close to the JR station. It’s in a quiet neighbourhood. It’s close to a lot of amenities. It’s clean. It’s price was great. It’s easy to find.
Cons: The Wi-Fi, while free, was terrible. Need vending machines on every floor.
Location: Quiet neighbourhood. Close to bars, Karaoke, Restaurants, Pachinko, a park and a grocery store.
APA Itabashi is about as stereotypical a Japanese hotel experience that you can have. In general that’s a good thing. The hotel is close to every amenity that you could need and if said amenity doesn’t exist close to the hotel you are literally a minute away from the JR station to take you to what you need. The staff is courteous and speaks enough English to help you. The rooms are clean and well kept. Plus everything you could reasonably need is provided free ( toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, razor, Q-tips, hair dryer, body wash, shampoo, conditioner etc) at a mid level of quality but again free. However the stereotype of a Japanese hotel at this level is that your room would be small and APA Itabashi is no exception. The rooms are small. Very small. Of all my trips to Japan this was the the smallest room I’ve had yet. However this is Japan, specifically Tokyo. Space is at a premium. If you expect North American size at this low of a cost in Tokyo you really know nothing about this city. If you want more space you’re gonna pay much more than this hotel is asking. So as long you have proper expectations this hotel is great and I highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Clerk Tani, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us APA hotel this time. We appreciate that you mentioned our hotel’s cleanliness, good location and the variety of amenities. We are so glad that we could get such comment. APA hotel group is eco-friendly. The hotel rooms are comparatively compact to have air conditioning and cooling system work efficiently. At front you can get a map around this hotel and we can tell the way to get where you would like to go by trains. (Since in Tokyo, the transportation facilities are little complicated.) We have some staff who speaks English, Chinese or French. Staffs are doing their best to brush up linguistic skills. We are looking forward to serving you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel in a peaceful area

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Hotel was nice. The room was a bit smaller than expected but the condition of the room and the cleanliness was great. Only unfortunate thing was the station nearby was under construction and inconvenient when carrying luggage up and down the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Clerk Manabe, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing APA HOTEL And thank you for mentioning our hotel's cleanliness. Thank you again to post review. We look forward to serving you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A brief journey to itabashi

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
Was a good stay the beds were not the best and were very low in the middle so no back support. The room I was in for 16 nights didn’t even have a tiny closet to put my clothes in had to hang suits from the wall. Barely had enough room to put two suitcases in. The rest was pretty standard for a cheap Japanese hotel. People were amazing and cleaners were super nice and understanding. Wouldn’t be my first choice for a hotel at least not this one. Stayed in other apa hotels which were much better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Relaxing hotel, very convenient next to a train station. Bed was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Vera

Disappointed

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
The room is away too small and the general maintenance like an old hotel we find in a village in China. Shame
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by miyakawa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with our room size. It's designed to be tiny and functional so that guests can reach out almost everything in the room from one place. Thank you for submitting your review during your busy schedule this time.
4 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location off of the Saikyo line, one stop away from Ikebukuro station in a very quiet neighborhood. The hotel itself is older but serviceable, and rooms were well cleaned daily. Could have done without the ultra-nationalist propaganda in our room though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by miyakawa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are happy that this location is convenient to you. We hope you'll stay here again soon. Thank you for submitting your review during your busy schedule this time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good location, 5 minutes walk from train station.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Very small room for twin beds. Poor value for breakfast.
Cons: They should ensure that booked Twin beds meant two separate beds with a gap in between beds to get in for both guests.
Location: Good location within 5 minutes walk to suburb train station Itabashi, and to supermarket, small takeout MacDonald and few bars.
Staff spoke little Japanese and we have hard time help to book our transport for airport shuttle to Narita airport We asked for twin beds and got two single beds joined together that took up all the space in a tiny room. We had included breakfast but it was nothing appealing mainly cold dishes. Since we had to leave hotel before 6:15am to catch the airport shuttle bus, we asked for take-away packed breakfast but they said no, and would not agree to refund the breakfast money. They said it's Sunday and breakfast starts at 7am. I appealed to the assistant manager and she said no refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Staff did not speak English

Posted Jun 6, 2017
A little bit run down hotel very close to the station. The room had some general wear-and-tear marks, but overall clean and well worth the reasonable price. The front desk staff did not speak English, so I had to wait in the lobby until my partner (who speaks Japanese) arrived before I could check in, even though the reservation was in my name, and prepaid with my own credit card. Room standard is not quite on par with other APA hotels in Tokyo, but it is priced accordingly, so if you're just looking for a place to stay the night, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Maki

Good location

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Room is small but pretty common in Tokyo. Great location and good breakfast buffet.