Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for budget travellers

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The hotel is in very communicative place - close to subway and JR stations. There is a supermarket just across the street. Although there are no people in the area at night, it does not seem dangerous. There is a police office nearby. The hotel is at walking distance to Asakusa. The room includes minimal facilities - a small TV and AC, but the (double) futon was convenient. The WiFi worked well. There is no elevator and the stairs are very steep. It is not appropriate for people with more than a carry-on or a backpack. The owners provide breakfast - cornflakes and milk/juice. It was written on the hotel web site and in the room that rental phones are provided, but this turned on not to be correct. They provide a portable device for WiFi on the go. The shower is coin operated. You can get a towel for a small fee. There is a coin operated washing machine. A kitchen is available for the guests. You can get free tea all day long. Hotel staff is very helpful and speak English well. They are not available 24 hours a day, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

It did the Job

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: cheap
Cons: for the money, nothing
Location: very close to the train station, local 7 eleven up the road few Ramon places, but this area is not really for exploring
I didn't really take much notice when I booked this hotel, so wa a little surprised to find our twin room having bunk beds, but hey we only slept in the place, didn't loitter,showers were great, and the overall decoration was lovely, little far out from town, but for the money perfect, one train line brought you all the way in, yep it was ok, and did the job fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Fair price and fair status, but down floor's tenant is too noisy cause can't rest well! hope can make a rule at night time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very helpful staff and good value for money.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
The hotel is situated about 5-10min from the train station in a quiet area. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel offers free breakfast (cereal and juice )
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for!

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Great for backpackers just wanting to get their heads down after a day of sightseeing. Showers are really good, but you pay 100 yen. Toilets and rooms are clean, but the one long sink on each floor is ridiculously narrow, water goes everywhere. Breakfast is a waste of time unless you are into sugar coated cornflakes, and the common room has only limited space. Plus, while sitting on the floor at a low table might be part of the Japanese experience, it isn't exactly comfortable for most westerners, so some conventional seating would have been appreciated. The train station is close enough, and it wasn't too far to walk to some of the sights - Asakusa, even the Skytree and Edo-Tokyo Museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, suited our needs

Posted Jun 7, 2015
We were travelling with a one year old and found this place to meet all our needs. It was clean, staff were helpful and friendly, it's close to transport and easy to find. Only complaint would be the lack of a block out blind in the room as it gets light very early and we have a young toddler but otherwise no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great inn with friendly English-speaking staff

Posted Mar 3, 2015
It was so refreshing to be in a place where people speak good English. Our room was alright. Not too small. There were no beds, only futon. There were toilets at the end of the corridor. And the coin-operated shower rooms were at the ground floor. The inn also allowed us to store our luggage for free until 6 pm after we checked out in the morning. I would definitely recommend staying in this inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hostel - perfect if on the go.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
This hostel was cheap and a nice location to stay. It has everything you would like out of a hostel - adequate rooms (though a little small), clean nice bathrooms, wi fi, lots of tourist guides, a kitchnette and decent futons to sleep on. The only thing to beware of is the coin operated showers which we avoided in favour of visting onsen around the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Small, but clean little minshuku

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Little bit tricky to find at first, but otherwise in an okay locale: two stops away from Nippori which gets you on the yamanote line. The room was clean but small (normal for Tokyo), the futon took a bit of getting used to, as did the coin operated showers. Breakfast (cereals and juice) was small but free, and the staff were always nice. The room was warm but be warned there's no sound insulation at all. For the price, this place is pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Aizuya Inn is a very nice hostel. I did not regret to stay in Aizuya Inn.