Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice basic Ryokan in a convenient location. Basic in terms of features, but clean and well run.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fit our needs

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Fit our needs as a place to sleep and shower for one night and close to the subway. However, made us pay our bill at check-in (in USA you usually pay at check-out) and entrance was locked at 11:00 pm so couldn't stay out after that (which is strange).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect blend of old and new

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The ryokan had the perfect blend of a traditional style room with modern amenities. The futon made for a comfortable night's sleep. The only thing I would say is that the fridge is a little noisy if you switch it on at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Annex Katsutaro

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: It was clean, The staff were friendly. It is in a great location.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: The hotel is situated in the heart of "Old Tokyo" and, as such, there are many interesting shops and restaurants nearby.
The hotel is situated roughly 1km from the Nippori train station. The staff were very friendly and largely spoke English. We enjoyed our six night stay there and would stay again if and when the opportunity manifests.
5 out of 5
by David from Glasgow

I would stay here again

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Location ok; Room clean; It was very quiet; English Spoken; Good coffee is to be had a couple of doors away. I'd stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Estonia

Great staff (english speaking) and cool hotell.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The hotel is in a great neighborhood (Yanaka) that is bustling with life - street food, random stuff stores etc. The hotel is also close to the subway station so it's easy to get around Tokyo.
4 out of 5
by Jesse from Los Angeles

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay! Great neighborhood, huge room for the price, private bath, laundry machines on site. Skip the breakfast and go exploring in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing staff!

Posted Feb 28, 2016
We have very high praise for this hotel. When we first arrived we realised we'd left a bag containing our passports on the train - the staff went above and beyond to help us to try to get them back, and we did, within a very short space of time! We're so grateful. They were also very accommodating in answering any questions we had about the area, and personally showed us to our room. The hotel itself was very welcoming and clean, and the room was just what we needed - clean and nicely presented. The location is great as well, and very convenient for getting to/from Narita. We would highly recommend this hotel and will be staying again whenever we're in Tokyo.
5 out of 5
by Kristyn from Melbourne

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and it was just as great as my first stay. The hotel is lovely and the staff are wonderful. Great traditional area as well and very close to the subway and JR lines. Already planning my return trip.
1 out of 5
by Sunny

Poor service

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Will not go back again. Lousy service from the old couple. Not friendly at all, no greeting n no eye contact when we try to ask for assistance. Walk pass grave yard from Nippori Station approx 10mins.