Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Great location

Posted May 1, 2012 on Hotels
Between Shinbashi and Ginza this hotel is a great location, with much within walking distance and well-placed for metro rides elsewhere. Inside is peaceful, with a European décor (and patisserie). Staff were very helpful, rooms were very nice, although the sound of the nearby trains was a little louder than might be hoped for. One thing that did disappoint was that the 21st floor bar closed at 10, with 9:30 last orders over the weekend. We were hoping to finish a nice night out there. Wired internet was good, but wireless would be appreciated for iphones and pads. One hint for Tokyo - if you are struggling to get cash out of bank ATMs go to the nearby 7-11, the machine there works with many more cards, whereas bank ATM tend only to work with Japanese and a small selection of overseas banks.
5 out of 5
by Julie

Fantastic service staff

Posted Apr 30, 2012 on Hotels
My husband and I recently stayed at the Dai Ichi hotel and had a fantastic time. The service provided by the staff was exceptional and the many calls to our room to help with the un reliable wifi was always met with a smile. The assistance in helping us locate a sumo training session was also no bother to the concierge team. We would definitely recommend the Dai Ichi and would stay there again when we are next in Japan.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location location

Posted Apr 26, 2012 on Hotels
easy to take the airport bus door to door, also walking distance to Ginza and the department stores
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from New Jersey

An excellent hotel in Tokyo

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Superb staff and services. Great location
Cons: Older and a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and the overall appearance is very attractive.
Location: The location is near the Ginza and all major transportation hubs.
The Dai Ichi Shinbashi is a very good older hotel. It is conveniently located near major transportation hubs, accessible by airport limo bus, and near the Ginza. The staff is superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catherine from Princeton, NJ, USA

Good hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: Easy access to the subway system
Great hotel where nothing was too much trouble. Great room, clean and with everything working and up to standard. I would recommend this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Locationis everything

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Pros: Location is brilliant
Great location, Shimbashi is a fun neighbourhood with great restaurants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Value for money

Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels
Wifi did not work for the first 5 days, it worked only on the last day of my stay. Another draw back is that there are only 2 English news channels !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Outstanding

Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels
Service and care of the highest level. Great location. Fantastic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Albert from Denver, CO

Return to the Dai-Ichi Hotle Shimbashi

Posted Apr 1, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: In-house restaurants are definitely geared for Japanese people but there are plenty of restaurants closeby
Location: Close to Shimbashi station, which is a busy hub and lots of shops and restaurants closeby.
I always enjoy staying at the Dai-Ichi Hotel - the staff are warm and welcoming and the rooms are spacious. The last two times I have reserved a Premium room, which I believe is good value as complimentary breakfast and Internet are included in the price.