Ratings based on 986 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Tranquil but convenient hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The hotel is located in the heart of Tokyo and well connected with various train line. The garden is beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC Canada

Tranquility in the middle of big city Tokyo

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Beautiful garden with lots tree and Japanese traditional pond ( lots carps ). Relaxation and calmness.
Cons: Little expensive for breakfast buffet ( CA$ 40 per person ) and need more choice of fruit.
Location: Close to Shinagawa station ( very big ) with 5 minutes walk. Good location and such big choice for restaurants around station.
I had stayed this hotel long long time ago ( 25 years ago ). Now they made great renovation and the lobby looks like brand new. Inside room is not renovated much ( change carpet/paint inside only ). I and my wife enjoyed very much Cherry blossom, Japanese garden in hotel garden and also enjoyed the surroundings ( very calm and quiet even very close to Shinagawa station ( 5 minutes walk ). We had very busy plan everyday and were tied. When we came back to hotel, we could relax just like at home. This hotel should be very suitable for middle to senior people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

great stay in Tokyo

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, helpful staffs
Cons: bathroom renovation
Location: 5 min. walk from Shinagawa Station, lots of shopping, can go anywhere by bus, train.
I stayed 3 nights at Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room is very spacious for one person. I admit the bathroom is a little dated but cleaned well. The garden between New Takanawa and this is very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Room, room amenities and cleanliness were excellent. Service and support by staff top notch level.
Cons: The gym facilities were lacking. Only 2 running machines and 2 cycling machines. There could be so much more including weights and aerobic area.
Location: Location was wonderful and garden amazing.
Room, room amenities and cleanliness were excellent. Service and support by staff top notch level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel close to Shinagawa station

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Hotel didnt let us check-in before 3pm so we had to leave our luggages with the concierge. Staff was friendly but not flexible. Has a nice sakura garden, connected to its sister hotel. Room quite roomy with 3 beds, somewhat outdated. About 5-7 min walk to Shinagawa station . You have to walk up a hill to get to the hotel which is a little difficult to find. Overall it's a nice hotel , a good size room for 3 adults and a good location near Shinagawa Shinkansen station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indonesia

Good hotel with traditional Japanese garden

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: I like the Japanese garden surrounding this hotel
Cons: Advise to have bigger room
Location: The location is quite far from subway station.
This hotel was a good stay but we have to use shuttle bus each time we want to go out. Because it's not walking distance to the subway station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

ignorant arrogant staff, overpriced

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: not much to like
Cons: hopeless at best
Location: go to the train station and ask... dont try the hotel staff
had to ask for a pillow 3 nights in a row and I left on the 4th, not worth the money, shintzy meager breakfast offerings and in my opinion probably recycled food. was a major undertaking asking for the final bill to be ready ahead of checkout.. nothing was done 3 times.. the most incompetent concierge I have ever seen and I have seen plenty..does not even know the hotels' restaurant hours.... not a single promise given by the staff was ever honored... inconsistent housekeeping service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Dated Rooms but good location close to Shinagawa

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Hotel was in a good location within walking distance to Shinagawa Stn which has the Narita Express N'Ex for easy commute to and from Narita. The grounds, lobby and staff were excellent. The draws backs are minuscule gym ( 3 cardio machines nothing else), outdoorpool was not open and not kid friendly (hotel info stated 21 and older) and the rooms were dated and on the small size. The room safe was under the bedside table and not secure or mounted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Wonderful experience

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Size of room, staff capabilities.
Location: Places to eat nearby were great.
Beautifully placed on the edge of the park, the staff were excellent and the room was large and very clean. I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good value. Outstanding staff.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
My husband had a medical emergency and had to stay in the hospital for two nights. He was discharged the morning we were going to check out. Staff was very understanding and extended our check out time for free.