Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

boutique

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: It's old style that works very well
Cons: nothing
Location: close to metro and JR stations. Wasn't bombed in the war so genuinely old buildings and atmosphere. Famous for books, ancient prints, guitars.
I always say there and am always remembered by the staff and looked after
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Boston

Eccentric and Charming

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: We loved the furnishings and the overall style. Staff is fabulous. Be sure to try the cozy bar - the bartender is a true professional.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Near Meiji University and many, many, many musical instrument stores. Good inexpensive food in the area. Close to Metro.
This hotel is 1950s throw back in style. Rooms are small but comfortable. We loved the eccentricities but it may not be for everyone. If you appreciate mid century furnishings and are not in need of business conveniences, this is a lovely place with fabulous staff. It's a good break from generic corporate style hotels. Location is away from main hotel areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow, Wonderful Quality & Impeccable Service Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: This is what makes just a Hotel Extra Special & a Magnificent Experience, it was a Privilege to stay here at The Hill Top Hotel, Toyko!!!
Cons: Staying longer is such a Lovely Hotel
Location: Excellent Location for Both Overground & Metro Trains just a few minutes walk away.
Excellent Service, Beautiful & Perfect Room. Breakfast was Superb in Quality, Service & Attention to Detail.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A classic

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
The Hilltop is the antidote to hotel life in the modern metropolis. Set back from the street, it is quiet and charming in the old style. Art deco/art nouveau furnishing touches, gorgeous little restaurants (imagine breakfast surrounded by stained glass and classical music). Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It is a gem!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Wendy Wei

Service is great!

Posted Jun 29, 2012 on Hotels
Like it a lot!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Art Deco Hotel - Great if you want what you get

Posted Jul 28, 2011
I would recommend staying here if you are interested in Art Deco, Tokyo's 20th century past, or just an interesting experience. I stayed here because it has a beautiful Art Deco exterior, and was (is?) a hangout for the literati of Tokyo. The hotel interior gives the impression of being a bit tired. But that is because it is all from the 1950s (?). My room was comfortable; but a bit dowdy. The area around the hotel has many trees. It was a novel experience to wake up in Tokyo to the sound of birdsong! At night I was lulled to sleep by someone playing jazz in the Meiji University dorms adjacent to the hotel. Don't stay in the annex; nothing to recommend it. I'm not sure that I would stay here if you are just coming for tourism and want a modern affordable hotel. If you are coming to Tokyo on the Narita Express, get off at Tokyo station, and change to the Chuo JR line. Go to Ochanomizu (Water for Tea...nice name!). Go out of the station at the Meiji University side. The hotel is 10 minutes walk. It's a hilly area (hence name of hotel). It's an easier walk if you go past the Kandasurugadai post office, and take a left. Have a look at the map inside the station before you exit. This is a great area. There are many used book stores, some of which specialize in European languages. Also many musical instrument stores. Since it is a university area, there are many cheap restaurants; Japanese,Indian, Thai, Chinese, and hamburgers. There are also many bars and coffee houses.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

とてもリラックスできる空間

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
長期滞在したくなる居心地の良いホテルでした。 ホテルの方々のサービスも素晴らしかったです。
5 out of 5
by makoto

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
落ち着いた雰囲気で快適に滞在できました。 朝食のオムレツもとても美味しくいただきました。