Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
The hotel is close to subway stations and Tokyo University. It was convenient for us to explore Tokyo.
5 out of 5
by Kin Man

Good Proximity to Tokyo Dome

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Forest Hongo is close to Tokyo Dome. Hotel is clean and tidy. The entire hotel is non smoking and it is a perfect place without any smoking smell. There are 4 metro stations at a short walking distance. Environment near University of Tokyo is a very comfortable place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great rooms, just a bit far

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Rooms are great with everything you need.
Location: Quite a long walk from any subway stations
Secluded hotel off the main roads. I had no problem finding it using Google Maps, but you may miss it if you're not looking for it. Next to University of Tokyo. It's in between 3 subway stations which gives you options, but also means that it's quite a long walk from any of those stations, especially with luggage. Rooms are pretty spacious by Tokyo standards. They have all the in room amenities you need, slippers, fridge, water heater, humidifier, iron, even had an ionic hairdryer.
5 out of 5
by Alicia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Nice hotel in quiet Tokyo suburb

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Perfect base if you are visiting the University or want to stay outside the centre. 10 minute walk to the excellent subway will take you straight to the heart of Tokyo. Large room and bathroom, only downside was lack of any English speaking TV channels, plus hard bed/pillow and thin sheets. Would recommend, good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to University of Tokyo

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Reasonably priced very pleasant hotel practically next to University of a Tokyo. It is a short walk to metro stations. There are convenience stores and inexpensive restaurants both eat-in and takeaway around the corner. Coming in from Haneda Airport early Sunday morning, we took the monorail to Hamamatsucho,then JR line to Ueno (¥500 combined ticket weekend special), then taxi from stand across road from Park Gate exit (¥1100) so access was quick and easy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Lovely hotel close to the city centre

Posted Apr 13, 2016
A great little hotel just a 10 minute walk from the local underground station, giving you quick access into the popular tokyo tourist spots. Despite being directly opposite the biggest university in Japan, it's quiet with comfortable rooms (ours even had a small table with chairs) and is close to convenience stores and restaurants. The beds were a little hard, but other than this the hotel was perfect with friendly staff, daily room cleaning and in a great location. Would go back in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
by Rafiziana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location near U of Tokyo, needs upgrading

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Location, Tsuge!, the quiet, and relatively inexpensive rates.
Cons: See above - replace room carpets, the bedspreads, perhaps the toilet bowl. Also, train the front desk staff about basic transit.
Location: U of Tokyo red gate, Nezu shrine! Close to sweet shops, great little noodle shops, though the staff doesn't know about them nor their hours.
This was very convenient to the University, where I spent time The staff, while many were barely fluent in English, did their best to help. But none of them knew how to get to Haneda Airport other than by taxi! One person, Tsuke or Tsuge, was amazing. She researched my transit questions and even registered me for a bus tour on a webpage that was only in Japanese. The facilities need some upgrades. One elevator that rattled terribly was fixed during my stay. The room carpets are stained badly, and the bedspread seems old. It looks like it is not cleaned between patrons. The bed was fine, the room pleasant enough. Toilet was cleaned every day but had a permanent ring stain. View of downtown out my window, and the neighborhood is beautifully quite. Just one TV station in English - BBC - would have been nice. I understand that this hotel is really not for Americans/English/Australians, but their website did not indicate such. Instructions for running the A/C, restaurant menu, and cleaning procedures ARE available in English, but you have to ask for them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2015 by Receptionist, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Tokyo. However we're sorry for our facilities. We will try to brush up our skill for foreign guests. We are looking forward to your next coming.