Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and good staff
Location: Near shin Okubo station and 7-eleven
Stay 6 nights good location but small toilet staff was so nice, Stay with family is good , the room also offer microwave
3 out of 5
by Chong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location, good basic accomodations, value

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Great location, good heater, laundry nearby, free wifi
Cons: Thicker futons, clean towels, remove mildew/mold under window, privacy curtain or screen
Location: Excellent location in the Koreatown section of Tokyo just outside Shin-Okubo station of the JR Yamanote line which is just one stop north of Shinjuku
Great location very close to Shin-Okubo station on the JR Yamanote line which puts you within easy access of most sightseeing in the city. Very inexpensive with Expedia bundle and the room was comfortable for the most part. There was a convenient laundromat across the alley and free wifi. We didn't mind chilling on tatami mats. There are issues, however. First, as mentioned by others--the futons are very thin--I needed 3. Second, there is no privacy at all. We had a 3 person room for a family of 3 and the bathroom isn't even large enough to fit a garbage can--it's the kind of shower/toilet combo bathroom you'd see in an RV. You can't change in there after a shower or your clothes get wet and there isn't even a corner in the room you can stand behind. Third, there was a bit of a cleanliness issue-while it was clean for the most part there was some mildew along the wall under our window and the towels smelled like smoke (though they had been laundered so they were clean). Fourth, they were really adamant about putting your shoes in the lockers at the reception area. I don't mind taking my shoes off but I'd rather just carry them with me to my room and back. Having to get them out of locker makes even going to get coffee out of the vending machine in front of the place a hassle. It's like they don't trust you to take your shoes off in your room or something. Annoying. Overall we were pleased and would go back. If you can deal with the minor issues I'd recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one thing about the tatami bedding

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: great location. very reasonable price
Cons: The bedding: futons and pillows need to be 3 or 4 times thicker a curtain somewhere in the room to make a private changing corner would be nice.
Location: We found delightful restaurants nearby including Korean, sushi, izakaya that satisfied our taste buds.
We are a family with 3 kids between 5 and 12. stayed Dec 2016. Overall we were pleased with the room. Very reasonable price; facility is relatively clean; extremely small kitchenette but who really uses it if your goal is to explore the wonderful Japanese food in its very home base. Good to know they have it though: electric water kettle, fridgette, microwave, a stove top with utensils and even a rice cooker. Our kids were happy to have a hot chocolate before heading out in the morning. The 5 person tatami room is rather "cosy" for our family. Though no private corner to change because the bathroom is too small for that. So note that five full size adults would be better with a bigger room. The one that bugged me: Comfort / thickness of the futons and pillows: Now I have slept on futons in Tokyo homes before to say that they were extremely thin at Hanabi. I wish I didn't have an issue with it but that's my weaknes. And it just makes it sound like a scam to charge additional mattresses and pillows at 500 Yen per piece per night. Doubling the futons did not help much for me either, though I survived five nights without additional request.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Location was good at an afforable price!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Location was closed to Shin Okubo Station which was a convenient stop away from Shinjuku Station. Supermarkets and a number of eateries within short walking distance. Staff could understand and speak good English. Room was clean and acceptable except that it would have been perfect if Futons were much thicker.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

near station but

Posted Jul 27, 2016
the room is full of kim-chee smell. the sound proof of the room is poor. the toilet cover is loose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Basic Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Their "futon" mattress is rough for a senior traveler. I rented 3 extra mattresses to make my poor back & hip bones less sore. My young family members managed it fine. Their toilet water runs for a long time while making disturbingly loud noise. The location was great, being close to JR train stations. Being located near Korean Town, we found many cheap eateries.