Ratings based on 1,096 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Old but great hospitality

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Hospitality. Also, the main building is very quite without any group tourists (there are many of those in the tower building).
Cons: Top of the Tower restaurant (that offers buffer breakfast) can be improved. Ambience, despite breath-taking view, is cheeky with cheap furniture
Location: Location is supposed to be good but somehow it took a lot more time than I thought by taxi
A young bell boy damaged my suitcase when I checked in late at night (he forced my large suitcase on a narrow escalator and it got stuck). The senior managers came to apologize to me almost every day, sent the suitcase to Samsonite for repair (which will take 1-2 months) and bought a brand new suitcase for my return trip (and they let me keep it) all at the hotel's cost. Most "luxury" hotels may do this but the hospitality the staff members showed me until the moment I checked out was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Excellent Hotel, very clean and upscale. Felt alittle bit too much like a Resort Hotel you would find in Las Vegas. I wish it had more Classic Japanese Theme to it, a free breakfast would help too. But what got us to love this place is there huge Japanese Garden, you can spend hours there. Overall great Hotel
5 out of 5
by Brian

Top class and making sure they stay so.

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
All round excellence at this world-famous hotel. Calm,quiet efficiency with great style. We particularly enjoyed the centuries old gardens and water features. Enormous carp of all colours are impressive too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Spend 10 days in Tokyo New Otani (the Main) Great location, tons of restaurants to choose from in the hotel, cute boutique stores, feels like resort. Outstanding guest service, really impressed. Comfortable size room (we had the two twin beds), super clean. Thanks for the great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good location, 4.5 points

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: softer mattresses
I have stayed here many times because I appreciate the location, with easy access to JR and the subway. It is still very nice, with excellent cleanliness. Service can be a bit awkward--e.g., the unloading of luggage from the limousine bus became complete chaos because they first collected all receipts and then, predictably, had a hard time matching them against the many bags. The beds are a bit hard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good value for the money

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
TLDR: Would not stay again. Go to the strings by Intercontinental for true luxury. Pros: The room was great. The complimentary toiletries were top notch. Cons: The hotel is very stuffy and seemingly fancy and yet the level of service leaves much to be desired. Many of the employees I interacted with did not seem like they were doing the best to actually help you. For example, one could not walk to the room with cup of coffee from the breakfast. We asked for a robe to use in the room and housekeeping took it away on each cleaning. There are tons of restaurants in the hotel but you would have a hard time finding one that is not overpriced. I was in Japan for 10 days and stayed in three different hotels and this was by far the worst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great experience. A bit of a long walk to the stations. A bit isolated.
3 out of 5
by David

Nice size but strange smell

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Service was top notch. Good size room. Overall, hotel a bit dated. But the rooms had an odd smell- mix between B.O. and curry. I moved rooms the first time thinking it was just that room. But second room the same odd strong smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Excellent immaculate hotel. All the staff very courteous and helpful. Restaurants in the hotel good but over priced. Would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Did the trick in style!

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice