Ratings based on 1,140 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, canada

Amazing hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2018
Very nice room. Big for Tokyo standards and clean. Friendly staff who all speak good English. The hotel has many good restaurants. It also has many shops and even a supermarket. My Japanese friends were like wow you are staying in one of the best hotels in Tokyo!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very good location

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Best hotel I've stayed in Tokyo. Convenient. Htl to subway abt 10mins walk. Subway line is very good. Dont need to change to main places like ginza etc. Has airport limo directly to hotel Will choose this hotel the next time i return to tokyo
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: the garden
Cons: nothing
Location: hotel was near subway which is convenient to go anywhere
This is one of the most exquisite hotels I have stayed in. Room was comfortable and the view was priceless - Mt Fuji They also have a garden with a waterfall.
3 out of 5
by christine

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
Unexpected rate of the room . I'm disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes, UK

Nice Hotel, Fairly centrally located

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: location & quality of hotel
Cons: Swimming pool charge is beyond ridiculous, to use it once a day for our duration it would have cost more than the hotel itsself
Location: not much to do locally, however only a 15min walk to 2 different train lines which take you anywhere you want in Tokyo
check in went smoothly with no problem, rooms were spacious with a tradition feel which was nice. the big let down for this hotel was that the swimming pool which is on site is not available to guests to use unless they pay £30per guest per day, which is an extortionate amount to charge. the hotel was very expensive to eat in, 2x coffee and 2x cake came to just under £30, that said it is a large complex The Japanese gardens are beautiful to walk around and is a very tranquil place. There is not much to do around the hotel area, but there are 2 train stations with a 15 min walk into central Tokyo
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC


Posted Dec 8, 2017
Great location, reasonably priced, superb restaurants, wonderful ambience
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from McLean, VA


Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Extremely helpful staff, very clean, tons of shops and restaurants and a spa, accommodating check-in and check-out times, placement near metros
Cons: I cannot really think of anything, other than that we got lost twice in the hotel because it is so big!
Location: Near two metro stations, restaurants, pachinko, lots of shopping
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon mid-November for a week at the New Otani, and we had an absolutely amazing experience. This hotel is very classy, has lots to do inside it (including a spa!), and the staff is just beyond friendly and helpful. The concierge helped us book a reservation for a high-end dinner, as well as directed us on the shortest routes to take getting around Tokyo. The hotel is also perfectly placed near two metro lines/stations, so access to many different areas (e.g. Shibuya, Ginza, Akihabara, Tsukiji, etc.) is very close by. We checked in late too around 9:30pm, and there was no issue; check-out deadline was also at noon, which made us feel like we weren't rushed to leave. The cleanliness is just exceptional too! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel (delicious breakfast buffets for the win too!) I highly, HIGHLY recommend this hotel to those thinking about visiting Tokyo, especially if you plan to go to several different districts. We even went to Tokyo DisneySea, and made it there in 20 minutes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

gracious old school hotel with ancient garden

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
i've been staying at the New Otani on and off since 1985 - it's a splendid old school hotel, set back from the clamorous city, very quiet, looking onto the beautiful garden. service is impeccable, but beware of the breakfast buffet - so much variety - japanese, chinese, Western, indian, thai - you won't want to leave. add to that the garden beyond the double glazing and breakfast becomes a ritual rather than a routine. the rooms are spacious and light rather than glitzy, the beds comfortable, the bath large, with enough creams and unguents to keep you smooth and tingling. the lobby's a perfect place for people-watching - bridal groups in furs and kimonos, eastern european rockstars, bewildered tourists on their first visit to Japan. and i haven't mentioned the price for all this - extremely good value for this oasis in the heart of the action. The elegant Tokyo Handicraft Centre is just up the road, as are the modern dry garden on the roof of the Canadian Embassy (it's free) and the towering ikebana in the lobby of the Sogetsu Ikebana headquarters.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Beautiful hotel but a walk from JR.

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Fancy and white glove service. The rooms are HUGE. The garden and waterfall would be perfect for couples and pictures.
Cons: Nothing. I would honestly stay here again!
Location: Nothing much nearby besides a Family Mart for cheap food and drinks. The garden is beautiful!
Booked this hotel for my first 6 days in Japan. This room was HUGE compared to the other hotels I booked. Staff is amazing (think white glove service). By far one of the best hotels I stayed at in Japan. Free parking for guests (it can be very pricey if you're not a guest (go to the check-in counter and ask for a parking pass for the day before you leave). Staff provides you with newspapers every morning. We had a great view of the city (even though its not the garden, seeing the city skyline was great!). Room can easily fit an additional 2 people (we had a nice sized couch and a chair) and the bed was perfect. Walking around the hotel, they cater for the more luxury lifestyle (there was an art gallery/store inside the hotel for an example). My friend and I were the youngest (and most under dressed as everyone was in a suit). Everyone here were either diplomats and business folks. Only drawback was getting off the JR station, it is a bit of a walk, especially if you don't know where to go. Tip: Walk towards the Sophia University and walk besides it. Keep on walking and the New Otani will be there. Look for signs in the JR station of Sophia University and follow the pathway (across the street; look right when exiting the correct exit from the JR station).
5 out of 5
by Jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels