Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: clean, near a major station
Cons: Temperature control, bidet
Location: if you don't mind touts, West Ikebukuro has lots going on at night. East Ikebukuro is a pleasant day and night destination as well.
Nice place for the money. I'd definitely stay here again. Just a good basic hotel to stay at. Biggest issue is the shortest route from the station is through a small red-light district which although not dangerous can get annoying at night - but I'm sure that's why the price is good. Also, I couldn't figure out how to cool the room so i just opened the window - however this seems to be a problem at almost all the Japanese hotels I've stayed at. And the bidet was broken - not a deal-breaker but I had to use TP like in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Reliable, Nice and Extremely Clean Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Clearness, Reliable
Cons: TOWELS!!!!
Location: Location was very good. Convenient and Safe.
It is a small hotel, but all staff are reliable, and the room was extremely clean. Cleaner ladies and staff are all friendly and polite. One thing I was wishing is TOWELS. Both Bath Towel and Face Towel are too too too thin and small. Nobody like those towels for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Little hotel great for short stays. Near ikebukuro station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted May 17, 2016
Cons: I think the room is too dark. I think the lighting could be improved.
Location: The location is near to the station. The surrounding are mostly local residential area and it is quite quiet.
With a limited budget, the hotel is good. Not over HKD 400 per night before tax. It is quite easy to find and convenient that just a few minutes from the station. The restroom is clean. But the room is quite dark. The way to the hotel has quite a number of nightclubs. The staff outside were male who dressed suits. They are nice and would not disturb others. It is quite safe in a way that there is quite a number of people on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Near station

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Difficult to find for the 1st visit, after that, the hotel is near West Ikeburo Station (just 5 minutes walk), nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good business hotel in a convenient area.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Hotel was within walking distance out west exit of Ikebukuro station. Small rooms but clean and comfortable. Convenience store next door. Great price for Tokyo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Location is good, fair room cleaness.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Convenient to Lawson100, FamilyMart and 7eleven. Fair distance to Metro, around 5mins walk. Surrounded by many restaurants. In overall, the location is good, but the room cleaness can be better. By the way, the room is too small for couples, we even cannot place 2 laggages on floor at the same time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany west australia

Convenient for our purpose

Posted Oct 27, 2015
We needed a bed for three days prior to a cruise and found this excellent for our purpose. Smelled smokey as we are non smokers but window opened for fresh air. A young receptionist was exceptionally helpful as we know no Japanese and directions he wrote for us were spot on. Good job!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Elsinore, CA

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Hotel New Star is close 8 minute walk from the rail lines which connect pretty much anywhere. There are hundreds of places to eat around the area. The rooms are small but comfortable, but that was expected. I'd definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by Vivian from Hong Kong

Okay to stay at the price

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Location is good, room basically okay. Unluckily I have problem with WiFi using my apple mobile phone in the first day. But the reception is helpful and let me use a labtop from them.