Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to places!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and the location
Cons: Holy hell, the cigs smoke.
Location: Everything!!! Sensoji temple. Tokyo skytree. Ginza subway line. Malls and shops and restaurants. Minimarts
The staff was super very soooo friendly. The room was quite small but it did not matter to me since i just needed a place to sleep. The hotel is very close to everything you probably need! BUT what people said about the cigarettes smoke is real!! NOT recommend to anyone who dislikes the cigs smoke... the struggle is real.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located in the beautiful location of Asakusa

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Fast and friendly.
Cons: Check out time could be a little later but other than that it is your basic hotel.
Location: Near Kaminarimon Gate and many restaurants and shopping stores. 7-9 minute walk to train station (Asakusa/Ginza). Near the Tokyo Sky Tree.
You should enjoy the stay here, if you are just going in to sleep and shower and use the wifi this is an excellent choice. Nearby Kaminarimon Gate and Donki great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Good. Very convenience

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Chill and cheap. Close to shop and any other thing u wishes
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from malaysia

using for bathroom for shower

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: the room cleaned
Cons: 1 put the signbord at the main street so the guest eaier to find your hotel. 2 please open the shower 24 hours so guest can take a bath as they wish
its nice to stay there but when i want to check out earlier the shower is locked. when i asked the staff there there are only open the shower at 6.00 am . i want to check out earlier than that so if please open up the shower for guest to take the shower when ever they want. one more things is please put the signbord at the main line street. its hard to find your hotel at the first time to arrived.
1 out of 5
by Chita

Dirty

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't like it. The floor I was on stunk. The bathroom stunk. At least the capsule didn't stink. But I would never go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The hotel's single room looks and feels very japanese with tatami mat and futon. If you want a cheap japan experience, i recommend getting this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Value for money, very near tourist spots!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Value for money, very near tourist spots like asakusa sensoji temple, Tokyo skytree. Good place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Czech Rep.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: 30 mins walk to Yamanote line, 3 mins walk to bus. If your're using only JR (Yamanote line etc.), it's a bit far especially with a heavy backpack.
Good and cheap hotel, capsule room ok, nothing luxurious. Bathroom little bit stinky, tea and cattle in a standard room, blankets little bit dirty. But overall ok and stuff very helpful with any request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Oct 11, 2016
very friendly staff and despite was old was clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from moving target

Basic, a bit rustic: awesome experience

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location. Inexpensive price.
Cons: Towels seemed to smell of cigarette smoke. :( Some floor tiling needed replacing.
Location: Grocery store 'nearby' called "Life" (big green clover). Little bar next door was a gem. Asakusa shopping/sites easy several blocks walking distance.
I loved this place, but then again, I'm an oddball. It was a fair deal: you get what you pay for (In my opinion, I got more.) My goal: a safe place, inexpensive, and in Asakusa. Location 1st priority, comfort and luxury not at all, so be forewarned. And although I booked a private room (smoking...my mistake) and its all I can review, this hotel has cheaper "capsule" options I cannot comment on. Anyway, everything was clean, but not spic-and-span; if you are a pansy in any way, find a curling tile (or two) of linoleum flooring intolerable, can't stand the permeating hint of cigarette smoke, or dislike the view of a brickwall ten inches from your window, this just ain't the place for you. In the end I found the Hotel New Tochigiya completely acceptable and fitting to my needs. If you already adore real Asakusa, or want to experience the charm of older Tokyo and aren't a shrinking violet when it comes to accommodations, then you should try it! And please stop by the tiny bar next door, Fujii is a great guy and tell him Eddie sent you!