Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Value for money small hotel in Shinjuku area

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Value for money, especially in Shinjuku area. 7 minutes to the nearest subway station and Shinjuku Royal Park. Japanese style room is clean. Reception staff is nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for the price

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Great location near Metro/Subway system. Close to bars and nightlife/ small eateries. Rooms small and tight. Cleaned well each day. TV and room facilities incredibly limited. Not a room if you need to relax in. But a good place if you're just going to use it for sleeping. Staff speak enough English to be passable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel in a good location.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: clean room, good location, helpful staff
Cons: The bathroom is pretty cramped. An onsite laundry would be nice, but there is a coin laundry nearby, so it's not so bad.
Location: Bars, Restaurants, Shinjuku Park, and apparently there is a gay neighborhood nearby, if you're into that scene.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean. It's in an area with lots of good restaurants and bars (although your enjoyment may vary according to your level of Japanese.) Currently there is some construction going on directly across from the hotel which may affect you if you like staying out late drinking and trying to sleep it off the morning after.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Nob, Hotel Management
Thank you for a stay with us the other day. And thank you for a comment on Expedia.com web site. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

No frills budget hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
If you're looking for a budget hotel, Tateshina is a decent place to stay. Rooms are clean & beds are comfortable. Kabukicho, Shinjuku station all within 15-20 mins walk. many eateries around. We took a taxi fm Shinjuku to the hotel on arrival because it's complicated to walk. After checked in it is easy to walk to Kabukicho etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Great location!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Enjoyed the stay - good value for money but very dated and tired. If you are on a budget and don`t mind a not so classy environment - then this is perfectly alright. Can`t complain about anything really.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was OK but quite expensive compare with service provide.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Room was small and not very clean. Staff didn't really knew basic english
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
We were a group of 6, staying in 3 rooms after a long band performance at a club about 10 minutes away. For our purposes this place was fine. No problems with checking in late, there was parking for our van and the price was reasonable. Hotel Tateshina is an old-school, standard Japanese business hotel. Some folks might find the bathroom a bit cramped and non-smokers may take offence at the air, as people have and do smoke here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel

Posted May 15, 2016
For the price and the area, great amount of space. The front desk was super helpful. Also held our bags after we checked out for a few hours before our flight which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not what I expected

Posted May 12, 2016
Good size room for Tokyo with comfortable beds according to both occupants. Surprisingly quiet. Within walking distance to Shinjuku station and good food close by. Convenience store nearly next door. Learn to make change and bring umbrella. Only knock was size of bathroom. Westerners will be reminded of RV, or, submarine.