Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD.

Could have been better

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Staff were excellent.
Cons: The bedding and breakfast options.
Location: Location is in the business district but not far from Tamichi station to get you where you want to go.
We booked a corner twin suite for ourselves and a double room for our son. Corner suite was bigger with better views.The room was clean and the bathroom recently renovated however the beds and pillows were not comfortable.Breakfast was ok and had limited options but when included in the tariff you can't complain.Front desk staff were excellent and very helpful. Only a 5-10 minute walk toTamichi station which was handy as there is not a lot around the hotel for tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: great location, super breakfast
Cons: storage
all over great hotel experience a supper experine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great Business Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Near to office, train station and many great local food
Cons: The breakfast is good enough but anything more than 2 days will be bored
Location: Nothing in the vicinity for tourist but being near to train station make it easy for travelling.
It close to train station and many local area for food. The staffs are friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Awesome hotel! Breakfast is okay but free so it works...staff is super nice and rooms are clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to Tamachi station

Posted May 20, 2017
The overall experience is good but just bed and pillow is hard to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow UK

Very pleasant hotel by canal in quiet part of town

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel is situated approx 10mins walk from Tamachi station in a fairly quiet part of the city. The other side of the station is a much livelier area full of traditional little bars & restaurants. Breakfast was a simple self serve, eat as much as you like buffet, eaten at tables erected in the general reception area.Tables are removed after breakfast. Staff were always extremely pleasant & polite. Tokyo hotel bedrooms are generally very compact but our bedroom was larger than expected & was very comfortable. Our B&B rate equated to about £74 a night which represented excellent value. Tokyo station is only 7 mins away on the train. Would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel, convenient location

Posted May 14, 2017
The hotel was very close (a 5 minute walk or less) from Tamachi station, which connects by the Yamanote line to Shibuya, Harajuku, Shinjuku, Asakusu, etc. They were all 20 minutes away or less by train which was great for sightseeing. It is also very easy to find as it is a big red building that is visible from the station. This hotel is a business hotel (it was over an office building) so small children may not be welcome. However, there were plenty of tourists staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

The Best in Location, Staff and Comfort

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Everything! Having the washer and dryer was great also.
Location: In Tamachi across the street from the hotel, is very nice eating places. Tonkatsu, Ramen and Izakaya were all delicious. Market was excellent too.
From the time we checked in to the time we checked out; perfect experience. The staff is very very helpful with the little Japanese we know. They all are very respectful and treat you with honor. The location is great, a nice brisk walk of 6-7 minutes, was very nice for us to the train station. The amenities; well supplied, and room was cleaned well. The breakfast was fantastic, always fresh and filled. Thank you for a beautiful time in Japan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Excellent hotel!

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: When we opted to skip room cleaning, a package was left at our door with fresh towels, amenities and bottled water. A very thoughtful and nice touch!
Location: Train station, a really good supermarket, a Lawson and restaurants are within walking distance.
We enjoyed the professional, very polite and helpful staff from the front desk to the room attendants. Lobby and rooms were very clean with good amenities. Complimentary breakfast was very good, especially the kabocha soup and fresh baked items. The laundry room was convenient as we stayed for 14 nights. We highly recommend Hotel Villa Fontaine and hope to return again! Mahalo (thank you)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice all around hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The rooms and bathroom were clean and specious. Had many conveniences like multiple electrical outlets, kettle (coffee/tea) and nice toiletries.
Cons: Signage showing the busy-low times for breakfast. Seating was at a premium after 8:30am.
Location: Tokyo tower is a nice straight walk away from the hotel (about 1.5 km) and looks amazing at night.
Convenient location, close to the JR and subway lines; friendly staff; very clean, comfortable beds with wall-length windows and super dark blinds. I would stay here again anytime.