Ratings based on 700 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse

2 star accommodation Decent location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Extremely small room The most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever tried to sleep on Hotel breakfast disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Convenient

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pleasant and economical. Closest Metro is shin-okachimachi (oedo line), a 5 minute stroll. This is about a twenty minute trip from Shibuya. Staff speak English, luggage can be left with them until check in time (3 pm). Plenty of eating opportunities near by, including 7-eleven type convenience stores. Breakfast is included in the room price and is of the buffet style with pastries, egg, sausage, soup, cereals, salad, tea, coffee, juice. Take away boxes are also provided since breakfast can become very busy with limited seating. Most tourists staying here are Chinese or Caucasians from Europe. Japanese tourists seem to stay elsewhere. It's proximity to Ueno (galleries, park, shopping) is another bonus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Decent hotel, clean room and will suffice for a short stay. However, breakfast was served in the lobby area without sufficient space or seats for eating, leading to scrambling for seats at shared benches and a rather stressful eating experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Practical Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Price & location
Cons: Buffet breakfast
Location: Handy to Ueno area
Villa Fontaine Ueno is a cost effective practical hotel in a handy location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diamond Bar, CA

It's a very nice hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
I like the hotel, it's very close to okachimachi JR station. There are a lot of eating around the hotel area. The staffs are nice and the amenities are pleasant. Price is great. No complaints, only praises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear your comment. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo Ueno-Okachimachi Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart, Australia

Small room small bed

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was handy to have and
Location: Being able to see the hotel sign from far up the road made finding the hotel easy
The location and quality of the hotel is consistence with the hotel rating. the bed was a small double but it fitted the small size room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo Ueno-Okachimachi, Hotel Management
Thank you for stayng with us. Also,we appriciate your feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo Ueno-Okachimachi Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
It was rexing in this hotel Very close to the metro station as i had to catch a train every day
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo Ueno-Okachimachi, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. It takes about 5min on foot from Shinokachimachi station to our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo Ueno-Okachimachi Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, but not perfect.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is an easy path from the train station. The hotel staff was nice and friendly. The room was clean. The only negative was the breakfast. I've stayed at other hotels that had better breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017
Thank you for reviewing us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Would be a perfect stay without rude Chinese

Posted Jul 15, 2017
My second stay at Hotel Villa Fontaine. First time 2 years ago we were at Kanda. This year we thought we would change location to somewhere near Okachimachi market and this is place is perfect for what we needed. My son and I were very happy at the hotel. Great wifi and clean room. We love their hospitality and honestly. I lost my wallet overnight when I came down to heat up my midnight dinner after late arrival on our first day. 10 hours later when i woke up in the morning and realised my wallet was gone missing, I ran down to the reversion and found that someone kept it for me. I'm so pleased about it. It can be a little difficult to communicate with hotel staff, as much as they were willing to help but their English is pretty basic. The only complain is the noise from Chinese tourists. We were surrounded by them during breakfast. Rude, selfish and greedy who have no manners at dinning tables. Twice we had to put our breakfast in a take away container and ate in our room. We will definitely come back again but not willing to see any rude Chinese tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by reception desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us. We are making improvements with our breakfast service and we appreciate your feedback on this areas. we look forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
by Rebecca

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you for staying with us. We are looking foward to seeing again. Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo Ueno-Okachimachi Manager