Ratings based on 1,097 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castro Valley, Ca, USA

Nice hotel, next to the nice park and downtown.e

Posted May 23, 2017
Nice hotel next to a nice park and city center. Only an 8 minute walk to the main subway station. Free bus from hotel to dawtown and subway stastion. Nice restaurants in the hotel (expensive), but for a few minutes walk you can eat with locals and drink coffee in Sturback. Great bakery shop in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

The location of the hotel was perfect for us!!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed everything about this hotel; beautiful, safe, location, clean and the food was great!
Cons: Maybe, the in-room coffee service.
Location: Access to public transportation was perfect, and there were plenty of nearby restaurants, shopping and nightlife.
The hotel is beautifully appointed, with an excellent staff! We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and both meals were very nice. We enjoyed the experience and will stay here again. Easy access to public transportation and the hotel is located in a beautiful setting. Although Tokyo is a busy city, this hotel felt like an oasis.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Below expectations for a Hyatt Regency

Posted May 22, 2017
Check-in and check-out were great, staff was friendly and service was good. However, when we got to our room, not only was it small, but it smelled like standing toilet water. The rooms were advertised with square footage, which was to be expected, but it seemed much smaller than the brand standards of a Hyatt Regency hotel. The beds were on the firmer side as well, but since we were so tired from our activities during the day, it wasn't a big problem. The toilet water smell was the worst part. Since we arrived at our room past 1 am, we were too tired to request another room and just sprayed perfume to mask the smell. After leaving the air conditioning running, the smell seemed to have dissipated. However, we noticed that the corridors had the same smell, which led us to believe that all rooms had that smell if the air conditioning was not left running. All in all, great staff and service, but hotel is in need of a refresh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Design
Location: Shops, department stores, restaurants, nightlife...
Neat hotel, great & considerate staff, great location - quiet setting, whilst only a stone-throw away from the hustle & buzzle of Shinjuku. Room generic, a tad bland, but comfortable...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good home base in Tokyo

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Standard rooms need an upgrade - STAT. Very much stuck in the 80s.
Stayed here for five nights. Perfect location in Shinjuku - close to multiple subway/JR lines and the hotel runs a shuttle every twenty minutes to and from Shinjuku station. Rooms are dated but functional with comfortable (albeit a little small) beds. Low counters in the bathroom and a high step into the shower (not great if you have mobility issues) but great water pressure and large, soft bath towels. Hotel restaurants are quite pricey and cater to a more business clientele. But there's a 7/11 directly downstairs which is great for breakfast, snacks, or international travellers needing an ATM. And be sure to check out the free observation deck at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government building next door!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Location, location, location!

Posted May 17, 2017
Great experience at this hotel. Definitely would stay for future trips The Toei subway line is directly under the hotel used this daily and 8min walk from shinjuku station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Great

Posted May 12, 2017
It is a great hotel. Very good transportation , helpful staff, excelent location and our room was very confortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hallandale

Most excellent staff! The best of any Hotel!!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The most excellent staff, location, rooms, the best location in Tokyo!! A 5+ Star hotel!!
Cons: Have more vegetarian entries in their excellent restaurants.
Location: Close to any were and everything!!The best location in Tokyo!!
The Hyatt is a 5 star hotel! The staff are most excellent and will go out of their way to being of help. Excellent location in Tokyo!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dishonest Pricing

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Honest pricing.
The hotel has a nice lobby and the rooms are fairly spacious and reasonable well equipped. The bathrooms were looking a little tired, but overall the room was of a good standard and has a nice large capacity safe. Check-In was a little slow, but overall service in the hotel was good. The location is good for the Shinjuku district and it is close to a minor Metro stop and a ten minute walk from the busy and well connected Shinjuku station. However, I will never stay at a Hyatt Regency again after the dishonest way they tried to trick me in to large additional fees. I went to use the hotel pool and was surprised about the amount of paperwork I was asked to complete. I therefore decided to check there wasn't a fee to use the pool and which stage I was told there was a usage fee (which was very high). This fee to use the pool was NOT mentioned in the Hotel Listing, NOT mentioned in my booking confirmation, NOT mentioned at Check-In, NOT mentioned in the Room Services Guide and NOT mentioned when I was signing in to use the pool. If I had not asked about additional costs I would have incurred large additional fees. I have never been in a hotel that tried so hard to trick customers into additional fees. I feel it is totally unscrupulous and dishonest and will never use this Hotel chain ever agin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent Location, Excellent Services

Posted May 6, 2017
The hotel location is excellent, with only 2 mins walk to Tochomae station. Round trip shuttle from the hotel to Shinjuku West Station is also available every 20 mins from 8am to 9:50pm. The hotel staff in concierge & front desk are professional. They offer excellent services with quick reponses. They also speak good English. Will definitely choose Hyatt Regency Tokyo when I come to Shinjuku again. Highly recommend.