Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Heated toilet seats.. awesome
Location: Centrally located to many things in Tokyo. Just a short cab drive to shopping, eating and so much more.
I was not disappointed with this hotel. The staff was there for everything I needed and went above and beyond what I was expecting. If I go back to Tokyo I will be definitely staying at the Mandarin Oriental.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and were satisfied with the hotel’s service. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Impeccable service, great views, large and modern rooms, and the spa.
Cons: Price of the breakfast buffer, Sense restaurant, room service, and laundry should be lowered from "insane" to just "very high"
Location: Centrally located. Not far from Ginza or main railway station. And in the basement is a subway stop. Super convenient.
I've been to a lot of really nice 5-star hotels in various countries including the Park Hyatt Tokyo. The Mandarin Oriental Tokyo beats them all. The views from the lobby, restaurant and room were amazing. We upgraded to the "Mandarin, Grand Twin Room" and that gave us an amazing view of Mt. Fuji in the mornings. The room was very large, clean, and new-looking. The spa was world class with very good masseuse and nice steam/sauna/hot tub. The Molecular Tapas Bar was also amazing. Super creative. E.g. dessert dipped in liquid nitrogen. Pop it in your mouth and chew and breathe out and nitrogen comes out your nose. Not only great tasting but really fun. Mocktail pairings were great too. Live jazz and Cuban cigars available at the bar were a rare treat. The concierge was also super helpful booking tours. I tried to make a reservation at one of the hotel restaurants and was told it was full. When we ordered room service instead, the concierge had notified the dining folks and sent up free drinks as an "apology". Now for the downsides (no place is perfect right?). The Sense restaurant Chinese cuisine is good but not great. But we paid almost $500 for dinner for 2 for their tasting menu. No wine. That is crazy expensive for what you got. I didn't mind paying that sort of amount for the Molecular Tapas, but here it was nuts. And don't do room service or dry cleaning...you may have to take out a second mortgage. Still I would go back in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Warm greetings from Mandarin Oriental,Tokyo. First of all, we wish to express our appreciation for having chosen our hotel as your preferred residence during your last visit to Tokyo. We would also like to thank you for having taken your time to review on our services and dining experience at Tapas Molecular Bar. For the negative review, they have been shared with the appropriate Department Heads to initiate the necessary steps for improvement to meet the quality standards of Mandarin Oriental. We place great importance on your feedback, as this will help us to improve the services we provide for our valued guests like you. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and inspire. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Alvin

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
Was terrific We had two remarkable service people: Moe in breakfast and Sara (I think) in the sushi bar Sara actually helped my wife learn about raw fish and for the first time enjoy sashimi and sushi Then she wrote out some unsolicited information and gave her a gift. Never had that happen before
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017
Dear Alvin, Thank you for your review. Your positive feedback on our colleagues, Sara have been passed along, and the whole team is very thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall service and had a fantastic time with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Hotel staff is incredible

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Traveling with small children isn't always easy. Hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure we were accomadated to our fullest satisfaction. Friendly, polite and very helpful! Thank you so much! We had a wonderful stay at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. Perfect location, easy access to various food options close by. Incredible views from our hotel room. We love Japan and its people. Can't wait to come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Pang Yuen

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Pang Yuen Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Never in my 25+ years of travel have I enjoyed a hotel nearly as much add the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo. The service and experience was well above what I expected, and worth the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and were satisfied with the hotel’s service. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
4 out of 5
by Chi Ngai A

Stiff Competitions amongst super 5 stars hotels !!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Competition is stiff these days amongst super 5 stars hotels in Tokyo. Given the age of MO Tokyo, they need to make extra effort to make staying there worthwhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Dear Chi Ngai A, Thank you very much for taking a moment to write about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and would like to learn more about it further. We place great importance on your feedback, as this will help us to improve the services we provide for our valued guests like you. We look forward to yet another opportunity of welcoming you back, and if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by STEPHANIE

Mandarin Oriental Review

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
This place has one of the best views of Tokyo. It's worth spending at least one night here. We loved it and it made our vacation. Of course, it's an expensive room but it was a very nice break from Tokyo. Pros: -Great views - some of the best views of Tokyo -Big comfortable rooms with amazing bathrooms and views -Accommodating staff and service -Great breakfast spread (and well-priced compared to other hotels/breakfast buffets of its quality) -Free spa/sauna access in the morning with incredible views -Subway station is in the basement of the hotel -Tea service is awesome Cons: -Location is ok- it's in a business/financial area. Not a lot of great restaurants nearby -Wi-fi is not free -Pillows are not great and we did not see the pillow menu that others mentioned -Smoking is allowed in the restaurants, and the lobby reeked of third-hand smoke -Bed is very stiff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear STEPHANIE, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate Department Heads to initiate the necessary steps for improvement to meet the quality standards of Mandarin Oriental. We place great importance on your feedback, as this will help us to improve the services we provide for our valued guests like you. Again, thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Hing Yan

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
First class service ! Nothing to complain except it's pricey Hahaha
3 out of 5
by Ho Yuen

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
No free wifi; sauna room is not complimentary; long waiting time at front desk... etc