Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Close to train and sight-seeing
4 out of 5
by Nonito

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by tb from officer

Never Ever agin..Would not recommend

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was April 2016 and its 25 degree days outside. At night its steaming hot inside your room and when we contact the hotel reception they say they cant do anything about the aircon cause THERE IS NO AIRCON until May frist week as they start summer only the HEATER runs through the month of April. Only advised they gave us to open the windows and sleep. We are a young family and our toddler went to sleep staright away after a busy day.But our 10 month old couldn't sleep. We opend the window and cannot believe how noisy that was. We felt like trains are running over us. They shouldn't be operating as a hotel if the aircon is not controllable by the hotel guests and it is a very high risk health Hazard. Front staff is helpless and innocent though.Would not recommend for anyone. Think twice what you get in to before booking this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay by train station

Posted Apr 12, 2016
We had a great room - tiny but quaint. Nice staff and good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No thank you, never again

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Run down hotel, wall paper are peeling off, any request made like no smoking room etc. are no guaranteed, they will only looked at your request on the day you check-in when it is too late. Only a few none smoking room available especially for 3 persons booking. Hardly anybody speaks English. Picture shows are probably 20 years ago. Only one advantage, it is across the JR station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in great location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Comfortable. Location.
Basic room that has everything you need. Great location, a minute walk from Ryogoku station.
5 out of 5
by Humphrey from California

Affordable, Convenient, Quaint.

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Classic western hotel a la Japan (i.e., not traditional tatami rooms but cruise-ship tight feeling quarters). Affordable and convenient/optimum location and did just what it needed to. Delicious breakfast and friendly staff. Knowing a little Japanese will go a long way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pathetic hallway and tiny rooms

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was very difficult communicating with the staff because none of them could speak English. Also, it did not help that they put us at the end of a very pathetic hallway that had small doors and miserably tiny rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Stay at the Pearl

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Did not notice anything
Location: Sumo.
We are not fussy people. So long as we get a good sleep and a wash, we are happy. We thought the staff to be beautiful and humble, much like the rest of Japan, We were treated with the utmost respect and care. You could say that the room was a bit cramped and the bath very small, but we see all kinds of stuff, and it did not damage our enjoyment. Breakfast was lovely.
3 out of 5
by Chokchai

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels