Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I think we got the smallest room available

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Hotel overall is quite nice and comfortable with a free shuttle bus to the nearest JR station Takadanobaba on JR Yamamoto line (5-10 minutes). Also walked to Waseda station (10 min) on Tozai metro line, so relatively convenient location overall if you are intending to stay in the Shinjuku or Shibuya areas. Our room had a nice view of the garden and was very clean and comfortable, however I think we were given the smallest room in the corner of the hotel. Also, the free wifi was very spotty, perhaps because we were in the corner room. We tried the breakfast and although the selection was small it was very good. Overall a nice and comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Great stay in Tokyo

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The room size, friendliness of the staff, and the neighborhood.
Cons: A few of the fixtures in the room were worn. The pool/exercise surcharge was too high. A special one-day family rate would be appreciated.
Location: Waseda University is next door and Okuma Gardens in behind the hotel. There are restaurants and parks within a few minutes walk.
This is a great Hotel, we would definitely return. As you walk in, you notice the classic European décor with plenty of marble, large open spaces and an inviting lobby. The check-in clerk was from Australia. She walked us up to the room and went through the amenities. We had a Junior Suite, and we had enough space for our family of four. They brought in two extra twin beds, so everyone had a comfy space to sleep. The bathroom was large with two sinks and there was a separate toilet room with a high-tech toilet. The Junior Suite faces south. It looks over the Okuma Gardens and the Tokyo skyline. The Tokyo Tower and the Mori Tower are visible to the southwest and the nighttime view is stunning. We were in Tokyo over the New Year's holiday. On New Year's Eve, the hotel hosted a complementary reception for guests in the lounge. They served soba noodles with a beer or soft drink, accompanied by live music. They also served sake in the lobby for New Year's Day. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood near Waseda University. This can be a welcome change from the frenetic activity in the popular tourist areas, but being near the University, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and subway is only a few minutes away. The hotel also has a free shuttle to the JR Line. My only negative comment, is that the pool and exercise room require a hefty surcharge and you cannot use the exercise room without paying for the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Croatia

Good place to stay in Tokyo

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Free shuttle bus to a nearby train and metro station (Takadanobaba station), everything as expected.
Cons: The
Location: The quilt on the bed was of low quality, causing unconfortable sleep. It is like a plastic cover, causing the guest to sweat during the sleep.
A decent hotel in Tokyo, within the reach of main city attractions. Nice and spacious rooms, friendly hotel staff. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to a nearby Takadanobaba JR station. The only problem was the bed cover of low quality: it causes sweating during the night and interferes with good night rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Surprisingly nice hotel with old charms, bit out of town but I liked it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

4 star hotel feel like 5 star

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Service
Cons: Some furnitures are getting old.
Location: Free shuttles bus will take you to the main station then you can go anywhere .
Great service very nice staff super clean rooms...free shuttle bus to the station every 30 mins makes yr trip so easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel if price is good

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Old-styled hotel with good service. Unfortunately, location is not convenient unless you love to stay close to university campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

quiet and beautiful

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet, peaceful and beautiful place to return to at the end of the day. The staff was exceptional and very kind and helpful.
Cons: Website needs to inform visitors that there is NO hotel shuttle service from Waseda station where we got off to walk to hotel with our luggage.
Location: Hotel shuttle was very helpful to get us to and from Takadanobaba Station. Many stores and restaurants around the station.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at RIHGA Hotel. Breakfast buffet was included and was substantial and delicious. What a way to begin the day! The staff was very helpful and kind and went out of their way to be of service. The shuttle service was invaluable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good to have the bus shuttle service.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay . But it is rather far from Shinjuku station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The staff made our visit, from the reception desk, to the waitresses the service was just excellent. The gardens at the back of the hotel...amazing!
Cons: The only slight issue we had was with the air-cons - we couldn't get the room as cool as we'd have liked and our room didn't have windows to open.
Location: Close to the subway, nice shops and local places to eat and drink nearby. Area is very clean and safe.
The hotel was genuinely lovely as were the staff. The staff went above and beyond to help us and offered helpful advise to help us enjoy our stay in Tokyo. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the subway and the hotel offers a shuttle service which can be useful. The hotel has everything you could possibly;y need and is so clean. It isn't in a tourist area which was nice as you were able to be separate from the busier parts, yet close enough for it not to take long to get there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is the most wonderful hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff are lovely and the amenities fantastic. Spacious, beautifully-decorated room with everything a guest could want. Free WiFi was much appreciated!