Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Traditional Japanese Ryokan right in the heart of Asakusa Prefecture. Great hotel, very clean, excellent design. Very easy to get to any part of Tokyo, subway station is around the corner. Would definitely go back and stay in this Ryokan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Traditional Japanese style room (single)

Posted Dec 11, 2016
This Ryokan is in an excellent location and is very reasonably priced compared to similar options in the area. The staff was very friendly and had a good ability to communicate in English. The room was very traditional with tatami mats and the futon layed out on the floor. There is also a fairly small bathroom and shower in the room as well. But for a more authentic experience, there is the communal bath on the top floor with a great view of Tokyo Skytree. The room was quite small and so was the bedding. I'm 6'3" tall and the comforter would not cover my feet laying flat. Though, I did not find this to be much of an issue if I wore clean socks to bed. And likely not an issue in the warmer months as well. The comfort was probably the only downside I can think of. After 4 nights, I was ready to move on from sleeping on the ground. Overall I highly recommend this hotel for short term stays in the Tokyo area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Close to train station, food, temple but room is very small. Typical for Tokyo. Had a hard time finding the hotel at first, sign not clearly marked. Enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Liked that I could open the window to my room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff great stay

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly host made us feel so welcome and explained things well. I would recommend thia for a traditional room. A bit pricey but good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffern, NY

Delightful, convenient, authentic

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: Major Shinto shrine 2 blocks away. Wide range of dining choices and shopping in arcade complex around the corner. Subway station access to all Tokyo
Steps away from the subway, a covered shopping/dining arcade, and a wonderfully colorful shrine complex, the low-key Ryokan Shigetsu was a great base for exploring Tokyo. The neighborhood was quiet by night, yet there were good restaurants and shops available throughout the day. The very clean room I had used futons for sleeping, which were very comfortable. And I loved the onsen (hot tub bath) and found that a super way to relax after a day of experiencing Tokyo's bustling neighborhoods. I would stay at this ryokan again if I were in Tokyo, for its charm, convenience, and comfort. Yukatas and slippers provided for sleeping and for visiting the 6th floor onsen. Views of the Tokyo Sky Tree tower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Wonderful Inn in a Perfect Location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: I loved the onsen (hot tub)!
Location: Just steps away from beautiful and historic Sensoji temple. It's about a 10-minute walk to Asakusa Station and Narita Sky Access.
I loved this ryokan! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the lobby was beautifully decorated. This was my first trip to Tokyo and I appreciated the warm hospitality of this traditional inn located in the heart of such a large and modern city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Ryokan asukusa shigetsu

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The Ryokan was perfectly placed for us in asukusa. It was a little difficult to find, as we got there at 8pm. The staff and hotel were just great. We stayed in Japanese style room and it was a fantastic experience. We will be going back to this Ryokan when returning to Tokyo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Siu Wai from Canada

Nice Japanese traditional hotel

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AU

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The staff is very helpful! The room is very nice and traditional