Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

culture

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
a very different hotel, family owned, very much like living in japanese house.
5 out of 5
by Dan from Oakland, CA

Eishinkan good intro to Japanese Ryokan

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
Needed a lower-cost option, and Eishinkan fit the bill. This is a pretty traditional Japanese Ryokan, so expect a small room, a futon on the floor, and a tiny bathroom (or for the less expensive rooms a bathroom down the hall). Breakfast is served 7:30 to 9:00 by the owner, who was very eager to ensure I had a good stay. Really nice touch was the umbrella provided on my door handle on the 2nd morning -- mine to keep so I could travel without getting wet. Hotel is about 1/2 KM from the Yotsuya JR and Japan Metro station. Neighborhood has some restaurants, but is primarily a residential area.
5 out of 5
by Derek from Seattle, WA

Comfortable and personable Japanese-style inn

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The personal feel: I interacted with the (extremely accomodating) proprietor and his family every day.
Location: This ryokan isn't in the center of everything, but the essentials are nearby, and its proximity to the Yotsuya station makes it easy to get around.
Staying at this ryokan turned out to be an excellent choice for me. It was clean and comfortable. The owners are on-site, very kind, and accomodating of non-Japanese speakers. Plus, the breakfast every morning was excellent. An illustrative tidbit of all of the above: I came back to the ryokan the last night of my stay and asked if I could use the microwave to heat up a bowl of udon. The owner said yes and heated it up for me. When it was done, he asked if I wanted a fork to eat with. I declined because I had chopsticks, and he said, "Oh! You know how to use chopsticks." The next morning, when I sat down for breakfast, he set a pair of chopsticks next to my plate rather than the usual fork.
3 out of 5
by eiji

安い

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
新宿まですぐでこの値段。日曜日にチェックアウトで朝食がなかったけど、パンを持たせていただきました。すごく美味しかったです。
4 out of 5
by skypowers

朝食付・JR駅からも近くビジネスでの宿泊に最適!

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels
周囲の環境は大変静かで、夜はぐっすり眠れました。 部屋は広く和室(タタミ敷き)のため、くつろげました。 朝食(輸入品のパン、コーヒー、サラダ)は美味しく満足でした。 欲を言えば共同のお風呂がもう少しきれいで、暖かかったならば良かったと思います。 ◎総合的な評価はコストパフォーマンスが高く「非常に満足」です。 
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels
房間位置都ok~可惜只有本館有wifi,早餐挺好。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to lay your head down at night

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels
I was satisfied with the room for the price paid. The room I stayed in was small but all I was looking for was a place to lay my head down at night and sleep. I will recommend the hotel if you want a place to sleep at night at a good price, this will not disappoint.
3 out of 5
by Worldtraveler from Pensacola, FL

Cheap, clean, but no frills

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Cheap, very clean, nice hotel staff, fairly close to subway, good breakfast, quiet neighborhood.
Cons: Thicker futon, improved AC, sound-absorbing wall covering in hallways to help absorb the sound of doors opening and closing, people on stairs.
Location: About 4 city blocks from subway station. Many restaurants 2 blocks away. Close to YMCA (in case you need to ask directions).
Not the Rizt Carlton, but cheap, clean, and nice hotel staff. Free japanese style breakfast a bonus. Shared bathrooms down the hall - not convienent for those middle of the night bathroom breaks. Rooms are very small. Visited in Sept (hot 92deg) and room AC was marginal to keep room cool. Set it to 65deg and it never got below 79 deg. No AC in hallways. Shared hallway Japanese style showers and bathtub (very clean!). Futon not very thick. Had to put additional comforters folded under it to get enough cusion to sleep. I think everything here is geared for Japanese business people visiting a few days on the cheap and not for senior Western vacationers. Everything was very clean and hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. No wifi but there was a wired internet drop in the room (but I don't know how well it works). All in all, very much like a college dorm or hostel experience. Ok for a couple of days, but I couldn't imagine staying here for a week. Perfect for young kids visiting Tokyo on the cheap. I'm a little older and expect more.
5 out of 5
by Joe from Ohio!

Friendly comfort in downtown Tokyo near YMCA

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff - owned by nice family Fairly easy to locate Clean room
Cons: Maybe providing more ryokan info online
Location: The ryokan is at Yotsuya JR station as is only a hop (160 ¥) away from Tokyo station.
When I first arrived at Ryokan Eishinkan, I had a bucket list of questions about where to eat and shop. Tomo showed me the room and was more than happy to andswer my many questions. In particular, I forgot a power adapter for my laptop. He gave me directions on how to get to a close-by electronics shop (including advice on which subway to take). After checkout, they let me leave my bags at the ryokan while I went sightseeing and looking for an adapter. If they had not helped me, I am certain that I would have also gotten lost on my trip to my next destination. I would like to have stayed longer, by I already had plans to leave Tokyo. My only recommendation is that you look on maps for the YMCA almost next door to the Ryokan. It will save you time and effort when you're trying to find the hotel.