Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ibaraki

Great Traditional Ryokan Room!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Room and private bathroom were clean and comfortable.
Cons: Elevator.
Location: The nearby sightseeing attractions are the Tokyo Sky Tree and Ueno Park Just ride the Bus 26 in the "Iriya-Nichome" bus stop.
This accommodation was great! It has a good location for bus station travelling to Ueno-Station and Tokyo Sky Tree. The ryokan room was really clean and quiet. All facility are clean, but it has less space which are common in any budget hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice little place to stay

Posted Jun 11, 2016
For the price and location it's a great little place. It's not fancy but the rooms are clean and there's A/C if you need it. The private bathroom is small but that's to be expected. I recommend though going the Japanese way and taking a bath in the communal bathroom. It's a great experience. If you want breakfast there you have to let them know the night before and if you want western or Japanese style. Apparently both are really good. I personally suggest to just venture out and find a local joint. You can eat for cheaper. Though the breakfast is only ¥850 about. If you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the young areas of Japan I suggest here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

nice ryokan style

Posted May 12, 2016
This is a nice place for staying in a ryokan style. The hotel is clean but the bathroom is quite small. The hotel provides all amenities that we need. All staffs are very kind. We can leave our big baggage in the hotel while we went to another for few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Basic but really good

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Clean, simple, lovely staff, bit of a hike to Ueno JR station (15 minute walk) but plenty of Tokyo Metro stations nearby. At the top of Kappabashi Dori, a really easy walk to the Sensoji. About 20 minutes walk to Ueno Park too. Wash and dry in the basement for 200 yen total. I had the private bathroom which although small was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very Authentic and Traditional Experience

Posted Jun 28, 2015
I booked this hotel because it was cheap and had was at a good location (600m/8min to Iriya station, 800m/11min to Asakusa station, 1.2km/15min to JR Uguisudani). The room is small compared to a hotel in the US, but was very reasonable compared to the other hotels I stayed at. The inn felt very much like staying at a Japanese home, as the owners seemed to be an old couple and the decor on the lobby floor felt very much like a home, with the dining room and the kitchen next to the tatami rooms. The staff spoke serviceable English, enough to let me know that I needed to change into the slippers at the entrance and store my shoes in the locker, and that I needed to leave the keys when I leave in the morning so that the room can be cleaned. On the day that I checked out, I had a flight late at night, so I asked to have my baggage stay at the inn until evening, and the owners let me put my big checked luggages in their small tatami room, for no charge, which showed me their dedication to service. One thing to note is to be sure to ask about breakfast ahead of time, as you have to schedule it ahead of time. It cost around 850yen and it was hot and filling. I got the western style room with a bathroom, but if you choose a tatami room, it will be shared bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Authentic Ryokan Experience

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Authentic Ryokan experience, sleeping in one room with tatami mats, futons with duvet, pillows to sit on, Japanese breakfast. Charming overall
Cons: Walls were thin.
Location: A bit difficult to locate, a good samaritan helped us find it. Long walk with suitcases 10 mins from train. Shopping/market 5 mins away, shrines
Overall - This lodging was worth visiting for a brief authentic Japanese experience. Friendly staff spoke minimal English, provided an optional Japanese breakfast (approx.$8) as well as you slept in a single room with tatami mats and futons with a duvet. Shopping - There is the Asakusa shopping district within 5 mins walking with blocks and blocks of little shops as well as shrines and a large market nearby with bigger stores/restaurants/Owl cafe/Don Quiote! Could have spent a few days exploring all the stores and market! Lots of kitchenware, kimonos, cute items for great reasonable prices! This appeared to be where locals would shop and purchase items needed. Sightseeing - LOTS! train is 10 min walk away Dining - Everywhere! AMAZING delicious foodgasm experiences for $5-$10 a meal and you leave stuffed! All the food is displayed via large glossy photos or plastic replications that are IDENTICAL to what you actually get! Lodging - PROS - Cute little place appears to be family run. Loved the experience of sleeping as a local with the one room, little table, tv, sink and mirror. CONS - shared bathroom/showers with all other motel occupants. Also had to wear their slippers inside (uncomfortable plastic ones that are shared by motel occupants). You can leave your shoes in a little locker at the desk so they are safe. You turn in your key at the desk when you go out plus you had to be out of your room for hours during the day (for cleaning) and there's a curfew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Low key cozy hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: cozy, close to the main city, friendly staff, comfy beds.
Cons: The sign could use a little more flair so it is easier to spot. The A/C could use an English translation paper in the hotel folder.
Location: It was in Asakusa which has a shopping area and a shrine which is tourist friendly. Also Akihabara is two stops away.
Well starting off this hotel is sort of hidden. We used google maps and still had trouble locating this hotel. We managed to spot it's subtle sign and discovered the main entrance on the second floor. The hotel staff was nice and spoke very decent English so we didn't have any trouble. The hotel is traditional Japanese style so you have to take your shoes off at the entrance and put them in a locker. The room was small but did it's perhaps since we are there to see Japan and not the room. The beds were very comfortable considering you sleep on the floor. It was cozy and look sort of like a family business if I were to guess which gives it a homey feel. There was only one bath for each gender and you had to wash yourself the traditional Japanese way which is wash outside the bath and then get in the bath. It was an interesting experience. Overall I recommend this hotel for a good price and being close to things in the main part of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Nice ryokan near Senso-ji Temple, Tokyo

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly. Quite area. Size of room was nice (compared to other business hotels).
Location: Close to Senso-ji Temple, Ueno Park and Ueno train station.
Nice ryokan in an older part of Tokyo. Japanese style bath/shower. Pleasant staff. Clean facility. Very comfortable futon beds. No morning or night curfews, but you do need to leave your room from 10am to 3pm for cleaning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City / London

Great stay!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Close to Iriya Station and Asakusa, good facilities, very nice staff. Cannot complain about anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by dpm from manila

Ok for the price

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: It had basic facilities such as coin laundry.
Location: The nearest station is Iriya on the Hibiya line and its one stop from Ueno which has lots of restaurants and souvenir shops.
If you're looking for inexpensive place in tokyo for more than 3 or 4 days, this might be just fit your budget. Got the room with toilet but if you book the ryokan, the bath is shared.