Ratings based on 1,022 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Reasonable price

Posted May 31, 2017
The room I stay is very tidy and comfortable. The location is good as well. I think it's a very comfortable stay in the ueno area if you have limited budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Cramp hotel room not with a long distance walk

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Not a hotel you would wanna stay if u r dragging a baggage.. a good 15 to 20mins walk. The room was not properly designed hence I had to enter the toilet sideways. Not a new hotel and not worth it for the price of US$80 per night
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Good hotel for those on a budget

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel for those on a budget. The double twin was bigger than expected, although a bit too flat/firm. Overall pretty nice spot.
4 out of 5
by Samantha

Great welcome to Japan

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed STAYTO. As my first visit to Japan and my first day in Tokyo, I was still getting my bearings and a little overwhelmed, but the staff were very helpful, spoke terrific English, and there's lots of information there that will help to get around town. The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms were in the room, the internet worked well most of the time, and it is close to Ueno station, the Ginza line, and easy to get to from Narita airport (Keisei skyline to Ueno, 15-20 min walk from Ueno station to STAYTO). There was even a sofa, small TV and phone in the room, which I haven't seen in other dorm-style hostels really. I had a great stay, would stay again, and would recommend to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A convenient hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The beds were a little hard to sleep on and the room was small but convenient. It was a great place to stay for those on a budget and it was within walking distance to shops, transportation and places to eat.
4 out of 5
by Megan

Best location.

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Room was quite small for a twin room, so a little uncomfortable at times. Bathroom very small, basically a wet room. Staff were incredibly, English was perfect and very helpful in all matters. Perfect budget stay due to location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Decent hotel close to Ueno Station!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff is friendly. It's convenient location.
Cons: Perhaps remodeling and making the bathrooms a bit bigger.
Location: Very close to Ueno Station and plenty of places to explore and eat at in this area.
Overall experience is a positive one. Though it was a very small hotel room with a very small bathroom, this room did it's job, which was to provide me with a bed to sleep in overnight and a private bathroom with a shower for an affordable low price in Tokyo. Honestly, I don't mind the small room but the small bathroom was a bit uncomfortable as it made it a bit challenging to move around in the bathroom even for my small stature. There are at least four 24 hour convenience stores within walking distance to this hotel. If you're wanting a more comfortable hotel room then this might not be the place for you but if you're just looking for a cheap place to rest your head for the night with it's own private bathroom then I would recommend this place. Would I consider staying here again? Sure, I love the Ueno area of Tokyo and would definitely stay in this area again at this hotel, however, I will keep my options open.
5 out of 5
by Yentl Abegail

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chongqing, China

Great value in good location

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on CheapTickets
Overall a good value hotel. Room was simple, but clean. Bed was a little hard, but acceptable. Staff was efficient, friendly, and accommodating (like most people in Japan). Location offered easy access to public transit to get around Tokyo. Some sights are walking distance, but limited options in the immediate neighborhood in terms of nightlife and restaurants. Location is quiet and setback from the main street.
4 out of 5
by Chigbo

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
It's good. Peaceful environment. Nice rooms.